Author Topic: NDBE StoreCampaignObject() equivalent ?  (Read 350 times)

Legacy_MrZork

NDBE StoreCampaignObject() equivalent ?
« on: June 23, 2015, 09:47:40 pm »

I am new to scripting with the Bioware database but I have a little project I am testing that needs it. (Sadly, using an external or SQL DB will essentially not work here.) So, I quickly ran into the issue with the native system that the variable name sVarName cannot exceed 32 characters. Blargh.

Initially, I was resigned to working out some hashing scheme to get around that limitation, but, I try not to reinvent the wheel more often than I have to and figured someone has probably written some wrappers that get around this issue. I recalled running across the Natural Bioware Database Extension project on the new Vault, one of whose main points is "sVarName parameter for all SetCampaign functions is no longer limited to 32 chars". Woohoo!

But, there is no analog for StoreCampaignObject() in NBDE that I can see. And, of course, what I want to store in the DB are item objects.

So, am I missing something in NBDE? At first glance, the trick NBDE seems to be using would also work for objects, unless the underlying BW system doesn't support sending objects with inventories (e.g. magic bags) to the DB.

Or, is there perhaps another extension to the BW system that would work here?

Sorry if this is a trivial issue, but most of my initial search in the forums was turning up answers like, "Use SQL!" which are not helpful in this case.

Legacy_WhiZard

« Reply #1 on: June 23, 2015, 11:34:02 pm »

NDBE stores a full database worth of information on a single item.  Object data stored as a local variable would need to be linked to an instance in the module (otherwise the object is invalid).  Objects stored in a database normally would contain all the information needed to create the object, not just a reference ID.

Legacy_MrZork

« Reply #2 on: June 24, 2015, 12:09:03 am »