Author Topic: confirmation needed - adding attack penalty on skin  (Read 443 times)

Legacy_Shadooow

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7698
  • Karma: +0/-0
confirmation needed - adding attack penalty on skin
« on: August 03, 2014, 08:06:41 pm »


               

I cant get this to work. Im not sure whats the problem I tried everything, double-apply, with temporary duration, etc.


 


Of course I modified itemprops.2da and set 13_Hide collumn to 1 for line 10, but its not working anyway, though in toolset I can add this property manually without problem.


 


Tried Damage Penalty and that one works... Can anyone try that and prove or disprove this? It would really help me.



               
               

               
            

Legacy_MagicalMaster

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2712
  • Karma: +0/-0
confirmation needed - adding attack penalty on skin
« Reply #1 on: August 03, 2014, 08:40:32 pm »


               

I think we need more information here.


 


For weapons/gloves...


 


I CAN add attack penalty and damage penalty via toolset manually.


I CAN add attack penalty (up to 5) and damage penalty (up to 5) via scripting.


 


For creature skins...


 


I CANNOT add attack penalty and damage penalty via toolset manually.


I CANNOT add attack penalty (up to 5) and damage penalty (up to 5) via scripting.


 


Out of curiosity, why do you need the apply the attack penalty to the skin versus a general effect or weapons/gloves?



               
               

               
            

Legacy_Shadooow

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7698
  • Karma: +0/-0
confirmation needed - adding attack penalty on skin
« Reply #2 on: August 03, 2014, 08:53:14 pm »


               

you need to modify itemprops.2da to allow that first, but even when allowed I cannot get it to work via scripting


 


I can apply this on weapon but I wanted this to be "invisible" What I am doing is remaking the horse penalties so they will be on skin instead of effects (as effects doesnt work with save/load / reload / relog across server restart (right skin normally doesnt as well but this is for CPP where this issue is solved)). Adding to weapon isnt safe - it might remain on the weapon indefinitely if module will have modified/incorrect module scripts and it cant be temporary because many multiplayer modules are stripping temporary itemproperties from all items upon login. Skin is simply the safest place to add this.



               
               

               
            

Legacy_MagicalMaster

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2712
  • Karma: +0/-0
confirmation needed - adding attack penalty on skin
« Reply #3 on: August 03, 2014, 09:05:29 pm »


               

Can you email me the 2da file at the address I mentioned in the other thread?


 


Then you just stuck that 2da file into a hak, incorporated the hak into a module, and were able to add the properties via toolset but not via scripting?  Is that an accurate summary?


 


Wouldn't this property stay on the PC's skin anyway if the module has modifier/incorrect scripts?


 


Another possible solution if this can't be made to work is to simply store information on the skin and apply/remove effects based on that -- basically strip them them and reapply them when needed.



               
               

               
            

Legacy_Shadooow

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7698
  • Karma: +0/-0
confirmation needed - adding attack penalty on skin
« Reply #4 on: August 03, 2014, 09:26:06 pm »


               

 


Can you email me the 2da file at the address I mentioned in the other thread?



Well I wanted someone to do that from scratch because maybe my 2da is messed up or something. I don't think the error is in scripting since I used



 else if(sMessage == "test")
 {
object oSkin = SKIN_SupportGetSkin(oPC);
AddItemProperty(DURATION_TYPE_PERMANENT,ItemPropertyAttackPenalty(4),oSkin);
 //AddFeat(FEAT_POWER_ATTACK,oPC);
 }

this code in OnChat event


 


the 2da you need to modify is itemprops.2d, line 10, collum 13_Hide from **** to 1 - this will allow to place that property in toolset and should allow to add via scripting but thats what doesnt work for me


 



 




Wouldn't this property stay on the PC's skin anyway if the module has modifier/incorrect scripts?




Yes, but at least it won't cripple the weapon '<img'> and I could remove it when unmount. (which for a ranged weapon that was equipped and then unequipped is not much possible to do (I can think of some workarounds but it gets problematic in many cases))



               
               

               
            

Legacy_Shadooow

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7698
  • Karma: +0/-0
confirmation needed - adding attack penalty on skin
« Reply #5 on: August 03, 2014, 09:35:57 pm »


               

solved... thanks



               
               

               
            

Legacy_MagicalMaster

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2712
  • Karma: +0/-0
confirmation needed - adding attack penalty on skin
« Reply #6 on: August 03, 2014, 10:58:40 pm »


               

Glad to hear you got it working.



               
               

               
            

Legacy_Shadooow

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7698
  • Karma: +0/-0
confirmation needed - adding attack penalty on skin
« Reply #7 on: August 05, 2014, 01:37:37 am »


               

just fyi: i abadoned this idea because of a bug that doesnt properly remove itemproperty attack/damage/enhancement penalty effects after itemproperty removal from skin, so I fixed this by reapplying effects on enter



               
               

               
            

Legacy_WhiZard

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2149
  • Karma: +0/-0
confirmation needed - adding attack penalty on skin
« Reply #8 on: August 05, 2014, 02:23:11 am »


               


just fyi: i abadoned this idea because of a bug that doesnt properly remove itemproperty attack/damage/enhancement penalty effects after itemproperty removal from skin, so I fixed this by reapplying effects on enter




 


 


I am not following.  You are no longer giving the ranged penalty for mounts via skin and are using the default effects instead?  Not sure what the OnEnter issue is, but the main problem with the ranged penalty is that a potion of lesser restoration can nullify it, so either editing the restoration line of spells, or doing this OnHeartBeat (with the mounted AC bonus) might be better.


               
               

               
            

Legacy_Shadooow

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7698
  • Karma: +0/-0
confirmation needed - adding attack penalty on skin
« Reply #9 on: August 05, 2014, 02:35:16 am »


               


I am not following.  You are no longer giving the ranged penalty for mounts via skin and are using the default effects instead?  Not sure what the OnEnter issue is, but the main problem with the ranged penalty is that a potion of lesser restoration can nullify it, so either editing the restoration line of spells, or doing this OnHeartBeat (with the mounted AC bonus) might be better.




yes default effects, but of course I fixed that isues as well


 


the issue I was speaking about happens in multiplayer when a mounted player logs out and logg in next server restart - all effects will be gone but he will still be mounted, also there are some issues with saving/loading game, I fixed all of them. You don't have to worry though, since you don't care about my fixes.



               
               

               
            

Legacy_WhiZard

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2149
  • Karma: +0/-0
confirmation needed - adding attack penalty on skin
« Reply #10 on: August 05, 2014, 02:52:51 am »


               


You don't have to worry though, since you don't care about my fixes.




 


Any reason why you are saying this?


               
               

               
            

Legacy_Shadooow

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7698
  • Karma: +0/-0
confirmation needed - adding attack penalty on skin
« Reply #11 on: August 05, 2014, 07:20:46 am »


               


Any reason why you are saying this?




You don't use my fixes so why do you care?


 


Actually, it seems to me from your responds that you fixed all issues I am working on already yourself long time before I even thought of them (never used horses, learned these issues from Proleric's guide). Same with any knowhow I happen to share on these forums. Which is not just you, seems you all knew/fixed that already lol.