Author Topic: A complete beginner with eyes bigger than belly  (Read 1300 times)

Legacy_Ribouldingue

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 42
  • Karma: +0/-0
A complete beginner with eyes bigger than belly
« Reply #15 on: February 01, 2013, 05:38:30 am »


               

Rolo Kipp wrote...
Then, perhaps FB's climbing anims.


I'm not trying to get anything animated. The lift is just acting as a transition when its rope is used, struggling right now to play a little PC animation before the PC is ported. Sorry if I haven't been clear on this.
               
               

               
            

Legacy_Ribouldingue

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 42
  • Karma: +0/-0
A complete beginner with eyes bigger than belly
« Reply #16 on: February 01, 2013, 05:43:09 am »


               

Lightfoot8 wrote...
1 Placables can not be moved.  


Well indeed I haven't been clear. Sorry again.

I'm not trying to animate the placeable but to make it port, it's quite working now, I just have still to get the old one destroyed and figuring out how to do it by location I guess since by tag would destroy the newly spawned one.

Anyway thanks.
               
               

               
            

Legacy_Ribouldingue

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 42
  • Karma: +0/-0
A complete beginner with eyes bigger than belly
« Reply #17 on: February 01, 2013, 05:44:20 am »


               Thanks Highv Priest.

I'll have to try this out someday.
               
               

               


                     Modifié par Ribouldingue, 01 février 2013 - 05:49 .
                     
                  


            

Legacy_Rolo Kipp

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4349
  • Karma: +0/-0
A complete beginner with eyes bigger than belly
« Reply #18 on: February 01, 2013, 05:47:03 am »


               <noted for his incredible capacity...>

Did you get the anims to play? I don't see anything wrong with that part of the script...

What runs the script?

<...to over-think things>
               
               

               
            

Legacy_Ribouldingue

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 42
  • Karma: +0/-0
A complete beginner with eyes bigger than belly
« Reply #19 on: February 01, 2013, 05:51:46 am »


               I'm definitively not clear... *sobs*

I was talking about another script now... an onused on a rope... the animation is not played and if I delay the port, the PC just doesn't port because of variables on the lift placeables I think.
               
               

               
            

Legacy_Rolo Kipp

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4349
  • Karma: +0/-0
A complete beginner with eyes bigger than belly
« Reply #20 on: February 01, 2013, 05:53:08 am »


               <wondering...>

Try GetNearestObjectByTag() from the old location. That way you can use the same tag.

<...at old man's pace>
               
               

               
            

Legacy_Ribouldingue

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 42
  • Karma: +0/-0
A complete beginner with eyes bigger than belly
« Reply #21 on: February 01, 2013, 05:55:30 am »


               Thanks. I thought this would have been effective only after the port and then would have been destroying the new ones then. Trying that now. Tried it a few minutes ago. Thanks again.
               
               

               


                     Modifié par Ribouldingue, 01 février 2013 - 05:59 .
                     
                  


            

Legacy_Rolo Kipp

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4349
  • Karma: +0/-0
A complete beginner with eyes bigger than belly
« Reply #22 on: February 01, 2013, 06:02:48 am »


               <waggling his...>

Depends on what you put it on. If PC uses rope by the kobolds pit and you port him to someplace else, GetNearestByTag() on the rope he used or anything by the old placeable. Won't matter where the new placeable is, because it'll be farther.

<...hand>
               
               

               
            

Legacy_Ribouldingue

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 42
  • Karma: +0/-0
A complete beginner with eyes bigger than belly
« Reply #23 on: February 01, 2013, 06:22:47 am »


               Indeed sounds logical now you've said it... wasn't for me... so now... how to port everything that is on the lift with the PC? Did I just ask that? Who says I'm impatient?
               
               

               
            

Legacy_Lightfoot8

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4797
  • Karma: +0/-0
A complete beginner with eyes bigger than belly
« Reply #24 on: February 01, 2013, 06:25:57 am »


               What do you mean by everything?
               
               

               
            

Legacy_Ribouldingue

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 42
  • Karma: +0/-0
A complete beginner with eyes bigger than belly
« Reply #25 on: February 01, 2013, 06:41:03 am »


               Well I've set a trigger around the lift itself with this script on it:

void main()
{
   effect eDamage;
   object oTarget;

   // Get the creature who triggered this event.
   object oAll = GetEnteringObject();

   // Checks positions
   oTarget = GetNearestObjectByTag("Ropedtc001");
   int a = GetLocalInt(oTarget, "LV_DTC_Areaheight");
   oTarget = GetObjectByTag("DTC_Southernlift_03");
   int b = GetLocalInt(oTarget, "LV_DTC_Southernliftheight");

   // If the lift is right there
   if (a='B)'
       {
       // Confirms the creature steps on the lift.
       SetLocalInt(oAll, "LV_DTC_isonsouthernlift", 1);
       }

   else
       {
       ExecuteScript("dtc_liftpit_c", oAll);
       }
}

I'm trying then to make the port active for everything that would have "LV_DTC_isonsouthernlift" set to 1 when the PC uses the rope. Any other PC that the one using the rope, any creature or any dropped item, just to make it realistic.
               
               

               
            

Legacy_Lightfoot8

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4797
  • Karma: +0/-0
A complete beginner with eyes bigger than belly
« Reply #26 on: February 01, 2013, 06:48:26 am »


               

Ribouldingue wrote...

Lightfoot8 wrote...
1 Placables can not be moved.


Well indeed I haven't been clear. Sorry again.

I'm not trying to animate the placeable but to make it port, it's quite working now, I just have still to get the old one destroyed and figuring out how to do it by location I guess since by tag would destroy the newly spawned one.

Anyway thanks.




I assume that you would have already found the current  placable before you created the new one.  

...

object oOldLift  = GetObjectByTag("LiftTag");
object oNewLift = CopyObject( oOldLift, lNewLoc);
DestroyObject (oOldLift);  
...
               
               

               
            

Legacy_Ribouldingue

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 42
  • Karma: +0/-0
A complete beginner with eyes bigger than belly
« Reply #27 on: February 01, 2013, 06:52:50 am »


               Well I didn't know this... but the lift does work well for the PC, appearing, disappearing, marking the fall spot... the two things I need to work it with are:

It's not related yet to variables, so I could manually do them one by one, but not a good scripting solution I guess. But still the one I think I'll use... a bit complicated for me now... too many variables and placeables.

And it's only porting the PC, that's the annoying side.

Rest is working well really.
               
               

               


                     Modifié par Ribouldingue, 01 février 2013 - 06:56 .
                     
                  


            

Legacy_Lightfoot8

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4797
  • Karma: +0/-0
A complete beginner with eyes bigger than belly
« Reply #28 on: February 01, 2013, 07:00:06 am »


               

Ribouldingue wrote...

Well I've set a trigger around the lift itself with this script on it:...

...I'm trying then to make the port active for everything that would have "LV_DTC_isonsouthernlift" set to 1 when the PC uses the rope. Any other PC that the one using the rope, any creature or any dropped item, just to make it realistic.



Forget about the int.  You are going to wast a lot of time tring to find all the stuff that has it on it.   Just use
GetFirstInPersistentObject andGetNextInPersistentObject
               
               

               
            

Legacy_Ribouldingue

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 42
  • Karma: +0/-0
A complete beginner with eyes bigger than belly
« Reply #29 on: February 01, 2013, 07:02:37 am »


               Ok thanks, checking it right now.