Author Topic: Gestalt Scripting Help Please??  (Read 450 times)

Legacy_MissJaded

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 243
  • Karma: +0/-0
Gestalt Scripting Help Please??
« on: January 21, 2011, 07:53:58 am »


               Excuse me?

Can anyone out there help me please?

I have recently been working on a cutscene using Gestalts system, involving 2 wolves running through a small snowy village.
There might be a person or 2 who remembers me posting about it recently.
Click Here!

Screenshot
Click Here!
That is where my starting area is. I have it marked at bottom of pic.

I have since changed my scripting around a bit by starting with Gestalt.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

#include "in_g_cutscene"
void main()
{

    // Find actors
    object oPC = GetFirstPC();

    GestaltStartCutscene(oPC, "smoothcam");


   GestaltInvisibility (0.0, oPC, 56.0);


   // 270.0,20.0,20.0
   GestaltCameraSetup  (0.0, oPC, 90.0, 25.0, 50.0);




    GestaltCameraSmooth (0.0,
                                                 0.0, -4.0, 0.0,
                                                 0.0, 00.0, 8.0,
                                                 5.0, 20.0, oPC);


GestaltStopCutscene (12.0, oPC);

}

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

But to get my wolves to move, instead I have set them up in a script like this.


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
#include "in_g_cutscene"
void main()
{

object oPC = GetFirstPC();

GestaltStartCutscene(oPC, "smoothcam");
GestaltCameraSetup  (0.0, oPC, 90.0, 25.0, 20.0);


    GestaltCameraSmooth (0.0,
                                                0.0, -4.0, 0.0,
                                                0.0, 00.0, 8.0,
                                                5.0, 20.0, oPC);


if (!GetIsPC(oPC)) return;

object oTarget;
oTarget = GetObjectByTag("WinterWolf1");


AssignCommand(oTarget, ActionWait(2.0f));
AssignCommand(oTarget, ActionMoveToObject(GetObjectByTag("WPWinterwolf1")));


AssignCommand(oTarget, ActionWait(2.0f));
AssignCommand(oTarget, ActionMoveToObject(GetObjectByTag("WPWinterwolf1_2")));


AssignCommand(oTarget, ActionWait(2.0f));
AssignCommand(oTarget, ActionMoveToObject(GetObjectByTag("WPWinterwolf1_3")));


oTarget = GetObjectByTag("WinterWolf2");

AssignCommand(oTarget, ActionWait(2.0f));
AssignCommand(oTarget, ActionMoveToObject(GetObjectByTag("WPWinterwolf2")));


AssignCommand(oTarget, ActionWait(2.0f));
AssignCommand(oTarget, ActionMoveToObject(GetObjectByTag("WPWinterwolf2_1")));


AssignCommand(oTarget, ActionWait(2.0f));
AssignCommand(oTarget, ActionMoveToObject(GetObjectByTag("WPWinterwolf2_2")));


oTarget = GetObjectByTag("WinterWolf1");

DelayCommand(39.0, DestroyObject(oTarget, 0.0));

oTarget = GetObjectByTag("WinterWolf2");

DelayCommand(39.0, DestroyObject(oTarget, 0.0));



  GestaltStopCutscene (15.0, oPC);

}

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------




But I still have a problem here.'<img'>

What I woud like.... is for the camera to move along as though it is following a track so that it follows where my wolves are going and so that you can see them as they run along.

I want the camera to start that action in the same position as the ending zoom point too. (where Gestalt Camera Smooth is used, or is it the setup? I'm not sure now)
But I'm so confused! I have no idea how to set this up, and what numbers to use e.t.c!'<img'>

So the camera is suposed to follow the wolves as they run from the bottom of the screen, and to the top corner where they turn right and then a few yards later, they go up a small hill, and then a few yards later the wolves stop and disappear to make it look as though they have dissappeared into the trees.

Can someone/anyone out there help me please??
I don't know how to go about this.'<img'>

How do I make the camera move along a track to follow the wolves as I explained??
               
               

               


                     Modifié par MissJaded, 21 janvier 2011 - 08:02 .
                     
                  


            

Legacy_Krevett

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 203
  • Karma: +0/-0
Gestalt Scripting Help Please??
« Reply #1 on: January 24, 2011, 08:54:45 am »


               In cutscene mode I think the camera is locked into your invisible PC, so moving the camera is the same as moving the PC... And if you need the PC to just appear in the cutscene then you can just copy it with copyobject!
               
               

               
            

Legacy_Balduvard

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 126
  • Karma: +0/-0
Gestalt Scripting Help Please??
« Reply #2 on: January 24, 2011, 01:11:55 pm »


               Krevett is correct, to move the camera you will have to move the PC. For all of your cutscene time values, you should line them up so that the action occurs as you want it to (this is where using an incrementing variable to keep track of time comes in handy, but not absolutely necessary). As a possibly simpler example to achieve what you are looking for, try using the included GestaltActionMove commands to make moving your actors easier.

I have modified the code you have provided to do this, adding comments where I have made changes.


#include "in_g_cutscene"
void main()
{

object oPC = GetFirstPC();
//Let's declare the wolves ahead of time to clean things up.
object oWolf1 = GetObjectByTag("WinterWolf1");
object oWolf2 = GetObjectByTag("WinterWolf2");

GestaltStartCutscene(oPC, "smoothcam");
GestaltCameraSetup  (0.0, oPC, 90.0, 25.0, 20.0);

//Note that I have changed the duration you have put on this function to 20 seconds--that is how long the camera movement will last, after which the camera will be immobile (I prefer to keep the camera in motion until the cutscene has ended or nearly ended). I've also changed the Framerate to 30.0 FPS to smooth out the motion.
    GestaltCameraSmooth (0.0,
                                                0.0, -4.0, 0.0,
                                                0.0, 0.0, 8.0,
                                                20.0, 30.0, oPC);


if (!GetIsPC(oPC)) return;

//Added this, setting duration to the end just after the last ActionMove commands will be completed firing (take their fDelay time and add the fTime used in the function).
GestaltInvisibility (0.0, oPC, 20.0);

//For the movement commands we will have to add WPs if we want the camera to be somewhere other than the wolves. For simplicity, I will just use the existing WPs

//Move wolves and camera to first WP in 2 seconds (0.0/18.0).
GestaltActionMove(0.0,oWolf1,GetWaypointByTag(WP_Winterwolf1_01"),FALSE,0.0,2.0);
GestaltActionMove(0.0,oWolf2,GetWaypointByTag(WP_Winterwolf2_01"),FALSE,0.0,2.0);
GestaltActionMove(0.0,oPC,GetWaypointByTag(WP_Winterwolf2_01"),FALSE,0.0,2.0);
   
//Move wolves and camera to second WP in 2 seconds (2.0/18.0).
GestaltActionMove(2.0,oWolf1,GetWaypointByTag(WP_Winterwolf1_02"),FALSE,0.0,2.0);
GestaltActionMove(2.0,oWolf2,GetWaypointByTag(WP_Winterwolf2_02"),FALSE,0.0,2.0);
GestaltActionMove(2.0,oPC,GetWaypointByTag(WP_Winterwolf2_02"),FALSE,0.0,2.0);

//...etc, etc, for the remaining WPs, until...

//Move wolves and camera to final WP in 2 seconds (16.0/18.0).
GestaltActionMove(16.0,oWolf1,GetWaypointByTag(WP_Winterwolf1_09"),FALSE,0.0,2.0);
GestaltActionMove(16.0,oWolf2,GetWaypointByTag(WP_Winterwolf2_09"),FALSE,0.0,2.0);
GestaltActionMove(16.0,oPC,GetWaypointByTag(WP_Winterwolf2_09"),FALSE,0.0,2.0);

//The wolves should reach their destination at 18.0 seconds into the cutscene, and the camera should finish moving at 20.0 seconds; at this point we can move the PC camera back to where it started (I recommend using a new WP for this, or if you wanted the PC visibly left at its location, you can jump back to the clone you created by using GestaltActionJump with the tag of the created clone as the target).

//Jump camera back to where PC should be
GestaltActionJump(20.0,oPC,OBJECT_INVALID,"WP_CutsceneStart");

//Clean up the cutscene actors (now that they're off-screen) and end the scene. If you wanted the PC to see the actors disappear, just move the fDelay on these up to 18.0, when the wolves reached their destinations.
GestaltDestroy(20.0,oWolf1);
GestaltDestroy(20.0,oWolf2);
GestaltStopCutscene (20.0, oPC);
}

Apologies for any errors in the code, I do not have the time to test it before work. Note that you can reduce the number of commands firing by reducing the number of WPs you are using to control the movement--two points is good enough for a line.
               
               

               


                     Modifié par Balduvard, 24 janvier 2011 - 01:14 .
                     
                  


            

Legacy_MissJaded

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 243
  • Karma: +0/-0
Gestalt Scripting Help Please??
« Reply #3 on: January 26, 2011, 03:41:37 am »


               

Balduvard wrote...

Krevett is correct, to move the camera you will have to move the PC. For all of your cutscene time values, you should line them up so that the action occurs as you want it to (this is where using an incrementing variable to keep track of time comes in handy, but not absolutely necessary). As a possibly simpler example to achieve what you are looking for, try using the included GestaltActionMove commands to make moving your actors easier.

I have modified the code you have provided to do this, adding comments where I have made changes.


#include "in_g_cutscene"
void main()
{

object oPC = GetFirstPC();
//Let's declare the wolves ahead of time to clean things up.
object oWolf1 = GetObjectByTag("WinterWolf1");
object oWolf2 = GetObjectByTag("WinterWolf2");

GestaltStartCutscene(oPC, "smoothcam");
GestaltCameraSetup  (0.0, oPC, 90.0, 25.0, 20.0);

//Note that I have changed the duration you have put on this function to 20 seconds--that is how long the camera movement will last, after which the camera will be immobile (I prefer to keep the camera in motion until the cutscene has ended or nearly ended). I've also changed the Framerate to 30.0 FPS to smooth out the motion.
    GestaltCameraSmooth (0.0,
                                                0.0, -4.0, 0.0,
                                                0.0, 0.0, 8.0,
                                                20.0, 30.0, oPC);


if (!GetIsPC(oPC)) return;

//Added this, setting duration to the end just after the last ActionMove commands will be completed firing (take their fDelay time and add the fTime used in the function).
GestaltInvisibility (0.0, oPC, 20.0);

//For the movement commands we will have to add WPs if we want the camera to be somewhere other than the wolves. For simplicity, I will just use the existing WPs

//Move wolves and camera to first WP in 2 seconds (0.0/18.0).
GestaltActionMove(0.0,oWolf1,GetWaypointByTag(WP_Winterwolf1_01"),FALSE,0.0,2.0);
GestaltActionMove(0.0,oWolf2,GetWaypointByTag(WP_Winterwolf2_01"),FALSE,0.0,2.0);
GestaltActionMove(0.0,oPC,GetWaypointByTag(WP_Winterwolf2_01"),FALSE,0.0,2.0);
   
//Move wolves and camera to second WP in 2 seconds (2.0/18.0).
GestaltActionMove(2.0,oWolf1,GetWaypointByTag(WP_Winterwolf1_02"),FALSE,0.0,2.0);
GestaltActionMove(2.0,oWolf2,GetWaypointByTag(WP_Winterwolf2_02"),FALSE,0.0,2.0);
GestaltActionMove(2.0,oPC,GetWaypointByTag(WP_Winterwolf2_02"),FALSE,0.0,2.0);

//...etc, etc, for the remaining WPs, until...

//Move wolves and camera to final WP in 2 seconds (16.0/18.0).
GestaltActionMove(16.0,oWolf1,GetWaypointByTag(WP_Winterwolf1_09"),FALSE,0.0,2.0);
GestaltActionMove(16.0,oWolf2,GetWaypointByTag(WP_Winterwolf2_09"),FALSE,0.0,2.0);
GestaltActionMove(16.0,oPC,GetWaypointByTag(WP_Winterwolf2_09"),FALSE,0.0,2.0);

//The wolves should reach their destination at 18.0 seconds into the cutscene, and the camera should finish moving at 20.0 seconds; at this point we can move the PC camera back to where it started (I recommend using a new WP for this, or if you wanted the PC visibly left at its location, you can jump back to the clone you created by using GestaltActionJump with the tag of the created clone as the target).

//Jump camera back to where PC should be
GestaltActionJump(20.0,oPC,OBJECT_INVALID,"WP_CutsceneStart");

//Clean up the cutscene actors (now that they're off-screen) and end the scene. If you wanted the PC to see the actors disappear, just move the fDelay on these up to 18.0, when the wolves reached their destinations.
GestaltDestroy(20.0,oWolf1);
GestaltDestroy(20.0,oWolf2);
GestaltStopCutscene (20.0, oPC);
}

Apologies for any errors in the code, I do not have the time to test it before work. Note that you can reduce the number of commands firing by reducing the number of WPs you are using to control the movement--two points is good enough for a line.




Hi there.

Thanks a lot for your helpful reply.'B)'

I have just tested out the script you made.
As you stated towards the end, I have of course found an error in the script.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

//Move wolves and camera to first WP in 2 seconds (0.0/18.0).
GestaltActionMove(0.0,oWolf1,GetWaypointByTag(WP_Winterwolf1_01"),FALSE,0.0,2.0);
GestaltActionMove(0.0,oWolf2,GetWaypointByTag(WP_Winterwolf2_01"),FALSE,0.0,2.0);
GestaltActionMove(0.0,oPC,GetWaypointByTag(WP_Winterwolf2_01"),FALSE,0.0,2.0)

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


It's that top line. (where it starts "GestaltActionMove(0.0,oWolf1" e.t.c)
It brings back an error in the script, thus failing to compile successfully.'<img'>

I have no idea what is causing this, but is it possible that you could find a little spare time when you are free, to fix it please? I don't really know how to fix it myself. I'm sorry.

Regards,
"MissJaded":police:
               
               

               
            

Legacy_GhostOfGod

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1490
  • Karma: +0/-0
Gestalt Scripting Help Please??
« Reply #4 on: January 26, 2011, 04:52:06 am »


               Try changing these:

GestaltActionMove(0.0,oWolf1,GetWaypointByTag(WP_Winterwolf1_01"),FALSE,0.0,2.0);

To these:

GestaltActionMove(0.0,oWolf1,GetWaypointByTag("WP_Winterwolf1_01"),FALSE,0.0,2.0);

Looks like some of the lines are just missing quotes.
               
               

               


                     Modifié par GhostOfGod, 26 janvier 2011 - 04:53 .
                     
                  


            

Legacy_Balduvard

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 126
  • Karma: +0/-0
Gestalt Scripting Help Please??
« Reply #5 on: January 27, 2011, 12:55:58 am »


               Short of there being a different error message (without which it is more difficult to discern the nature of the problem), the above should work, unless the Toolset is moving my comments to new lines and trying to treat it as code rather than comment.
               
               

               
            

Legacy_Greyfort

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 442
  • Karma: +0/-0
Gestalt Scripting Help Please??
« Reply #6 on: January 27, 2011, 08:35:58 am »


               code seemed intact when I coppaste the only issue i found, was as Ghoast wrote:
GestaltActionMove(0.0,oWolf1,GetWaypointByTag("WP_Winterwolf1_01"),FALSE,0.0,2.0);
simply missing a "
OTHER then that I did not have your include file #include "in_g_cutscene" so I could not use script


EDIT: got the include from the links
Compiled correctly, I will  sett up a miny mod if you need anymore help

!!! Great work on that mod  Bulvard !!!
               
               

               


                     Modifié par Greyfort, 27 janvier 2011 - 08:55 .
                     
                  


            

Legacy_Greyfort

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 442
  • Karma: +0/-0
Gestalt Scripting Help Please??
« Reply #7 on: January 27, 2011, 07:46:20 pm »


               Well i took the scripts from previous post...that MissJaded  said to look at. got the include from Balduvard module, and made a test module the only issues I found so far is doest go to last way point, then destroy wolfs. and it also jumps pc to the wolfs first way point not the custsceen start way point.  I will keep looking into it.  other then those small glitches it looks realy cool the way it tracks the wolfs well done Balduvard and the maker of "in_g_cutscene"
               
               

               
            

Legacy_Moranin

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: +0/-0
Gestalt Scripting Help Please??
« Reply #8 on: January 28, 2011, 12:16:22 am »


               Gestalt.
               
               

               
            

Legacy_MissJaded

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 243
  • Karma: +0/-0
Gestalt Scripting Help Please??
« Reply #9 on: January 28, 2011, 04:55:09 am »


               Thanks a lot for the helpful replies here. '<img'>

@ "GhostOfGod"
OMG! You must have great eyes, erm, I mean..... great eagle eyes!'<img'>'<img'>
sticking the quotes in where they were needed seems like such a simple thing now. and I never spotted it. *blush*

Thanks for that. My script compiiles sucessfully now, thanks to you.'<img'>



I'm hoping anyone will come back and read my reply though becasue there are still 1 or 2 things which I need to straighten out and my script still isn't working in the  way I want it to.'<img'>

I have since changed 1 or 2 numbers in Gestalt cam smooth and changed the tags of waypoints to correct them to what they are in my module.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

#include "in_g_cutscene"
void main()
{

object oPC = GetFirstPC();
//Let's declare the wolves ahead of time to clean things up.
object oWolf1 = GetObjectByTag("WinterWolf1");
object oWolf2 = GetObjectByTag("WinterWolf2");

GestaltStartCutscene(oPC, "smoothcam");

GestaltCameraSetup (0.0, oPC, 90.0, 25.0, 30.0);


   GestaltCameraSmooth (0.0,
                       0.0, -4.0, 0.0,
                       0.0, 0.0, 8.0,
                       20.0, 30.0, oPC);



//Note that I have changed the duration you have put on this function to 20
//seconds--that is how long the camera movement will last, after which the
//camera will be immobile (I prefer to keep the camera in motion until the
//cutscene has ended or nearly ended). I've also changed the Framerate to
//30.0 FPS to smooth out the motion.



if (!GetIsPC(oPC)) return;

//Added this, setting duration to the end just after the last ActionMove
//commands will be completed firing (take their fDelay time and add the fTime
//used in the function).
GestaltInvisibility (0.0, oPC, 40.0);

//For the movement commands we will have to add WPs if we want the camera to
//be somewhere other than the wolves. For simplicity, I will just use the
//existing WPs



 //Move wolves and camera to First WP in 2 seconds (2.0/18.0).
GestaltActionMove(18.10,oWolf1,GetWaypointByTag("WPWinterwolf1"),FALSE,0.0,2.0);
GestaltActionMove(18.10,oWolf2,GetWaypointByTag("WPWinterwolf2"),FALSE,0.0,2.0);
GestaltActionMove(18.10,oPC,GetWaypointByTag("WP_PC_Move1"),FALSE,0.0,2.0);


//Move wolves and camera to second WP in 2 seconds (2.0/18.0).
GestaltActionMove(21.10,oWolf1,GetWaypointByTag("WPWinterwolf1_2"),FALSE,0.0,2.0);
GestaltActionMove(21.10,oWolf2,GetWaypointByTag("WPWinterwolf2_1"),FALSE,0.0,2.0);
GestaltActionMove(21.10,oPC,GetWaypointByTag("WP_PC_Move2"),FALSE,0.0,2.0);

//...etc, etc, for the remaining WPs, until...

//Move wolves and camera to third and final WP in 2 seconds (16.0/18.0).
GestaltActionMove(24.10,oWolf1,GetWaypointByTag("WPWinterwolf1_3"),FALSE,0.0,2.0);
GestaltActionMove(24.10,oWolf2,GetWaypointByTag("WPWinterwolf2_2"),FALSE,0.0,2.0);
GestaltActionMove(24.10,oPC,GetWaypointByTag("WP_PC_Move3"),FALSE,0.0,2.0);

//The wolves should reach their destination at 18.0 seconds into the cutscene,
//and the camera should finish moving at 20.0 seconds; at this point we can
//move the PC camera back to where it started (I recommend using a new WP for
//this, or if you wanted the PC visibly left at its location, you can jump
//back to the clone you created by using GestaltActionJump with the tag of the
//created clone as the target).

//Jump camera back to where PC should be
GestaltActionJump(20.0,oPC,OBJECT_INVALID,"WP_CutsceneStart");

//Clean up the cutscene actors (now that they're off-screen) and end the scene.
//If you wanted the PC to see the actors disappear, just move the fDelay on
//these up to 18.0, when the wolves reached their destinations.
GestaltDestroy(29.10,oWolf1);
GestaltDestroy(29.10,oWolf2);
GestaltStopCutscene (31.10, oPC);

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

This setup wrks better to start off with, BUT....

From the start, the camera appears to zoom almost right down to the ground before straightening itself out again.
I don't want that. I want it zoom to a higher point than that
Thing is, I don't know which numbers to change to do that, and what do I change them to please?

Secondly, there is a bad timing delay somewhere.
When my PC starts to run along, she  and the cutscene stop midway along the road and dont go all the way to the end. (which is around the corner in the distance and up a small hill to where the road ends at the trees) This looks rather odd.'<img'>

But also.... she runs faster than the wolves and outruns them, hence she cannot track where they are going.
Again, I don't know what to change in the script to put this right.'<img'>

Can anyone help me out here please?



Edit to say that I just changed the movement rate of my wolves and that part is fine now.
But I still require help with the rest please?

Regards,
"Missjaded":police:
               
               

               


                     Modifié par MissJaded, 28 janvier 2011 - 05:13 .
                     
                  


            

Legacy_MissJaded

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 243
  • Karma: +0/-0
Gestalt Scripting Help Please??
« Reply #10 on: January 28, 2011, 09:01:27 am »


               

Greyfort wrote...

Well i took the scripts from previous post...that MissJaded  said to look at. got the include from Balduvard module, and made a test module the only issues I found so far is doest go to last way point, then destroy wolfs. and it also jumps pc to the wolfs first way point not the custsceen start way point.  I will keep looking into it.  other then those small glitches it looks realy cool the way it tracks the wolfs well done Balduvard and the maker of "in_g_cutscene"


Hehe yeah... it's funny but I think I've only just realised this minute what you have confirmed in my very last post here.
As you said, it doesnt take the pc to the last waypoint in my area. It is destroying the wolves, but destroying them too soon too, when the cutscene holts abruptly, half way up the road.'<img'>

I was beginning to think it might be a bug with the tileset I am using there. (which I cannot seem to find at n.w. vault right now) But if you have created a test module with the original Bioware winter tileset, then obviously it cannot be a bug in the tileset.

I haven't tested the part with the pc starting waypoint though.
What I want for that, is for the pc to (at the end of the road and cutscene) get ported to a waypoint in my next area instead... where my 2 wolves will be. But I'll sort that out later.

I just hope that someone can sort my current problem out first, and sometime soon would be nice.'<img'>

Regards,
"MissJaded":police:


Edit : Just found the winter tileset I am using for this.
http://nwvault.ign.c....Detail&id=3357
':police:'
               
               

               


                     Modifié par MissJaded, 28 janvier 2011 - 09:36 .
                     
                  


            

Legacy_Balduvard

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 126
  • Karma: +0/-0
Gestalt Scripting Help Please??
« Reply #11 on: January 29, 2011, 01:06:29 am »


               

MissJaded wrote...

GestaltCameraSmooth (0.0, 0.0, -4.0, 0.0, 0.0, 0.0, 8.0, 20.0, 30.0, oPC);

...

Thing is, I don't know which numbers to change to do that, and what do I change them to please?


In the scripting window, double click on any GestaltCameraSmooth and the function definition will pop up at the bottom of the screen to explain how all of the parameters work. As currently written, your function call has the following parameters:
fDelay - 0.0: The camera moves as soon as the cutscene starts
Starting Rotation Speed - 0.0: The camera starts rotating from rest
Starting Zoom Speed - -4.0: The camera starts as if it was already zooming in
Starting Angle Speed - 0.0: The camera starts pitching up/down from rest
Ending Rotation Speed - 0.0: The camera has performed no rotation
Ending Zoom Speed - 0.0: The camera slows down its zoom to a stopping point
Ending Pitch Speed - 8.0: The camera has accelerated itself towards the ground
Duration - 20.0: Lasting the duration of the cutscene
Frames per second - 30.0: The camera will shift 30 times per second as it moves
Target - oPC: We are moving the camera of oPC

Of important note here, and how I plan my camera moves, is the interplay between rates and time. Let's take the zoom speed as an example since you mentioned it zoomed in too far:

Initial zoom rate: -4.0 (zooming in at 4 m/s)
Final zoom rate: 0.0 (not zooming in/out)
Duration of motion: 20.0 seconds

Since the acceleration is linear, we'll just multiply the average velocity (-2.0 m/s) by the duration of motion in order to get our total travel:

-2.0 m/s * 20.0 s = -40m

40m is quite a fair bit of zoom, coupled with a downward pitching acceleration of the camera listed above (your camera will end up very zoomed in and very low to the ground). GestaltCameraSmooth requires a bit more work to get camera movement, though the smoothing capabilities offer a great deal of aesthetic appeal if you can work it out. Otherwise, I recommend trying GestaltCameraMove to accomplish simple camera rotations from one angle to another.

MissJaded wrote...

//Move wolves and camera to First WP in 2 seconds (2.0/18.0).
GestaltActionMove(18.10,oWolf1,GetWaypointByTag("WPWinterwolf1"),FALSE,0.0,2.0);
GestaltActionMove(18.10,oWolf2,GetWaypointByTag("WPWinterwolf2"),FALSE,0.0,2.0);
GestaltActionMove(18.10,oPC,GetWaypointByTag("WP_PC_Move1"),FALSE,0.0,2.0);

...

//Jump camera back to where PC should be
GestaltActionJump(20.0,oPC,OBJECT_INVALID,"WP_CutsceneStart");


By changing the times of those GestaltActionMove commands, you have changed the flow of the scene. The PC will now be jumped back to the starting point just 1.9 seconds after receiving a move command, which is coming 18.1 seconds into the cutscene as it is.

MissJaded wrote...
//...etc, etc, for the remaining WPs, until...


When I wrote this, I was in a hurry and intended you to fill in the blanks regarding the remaining GestaltActionMove commands to fill out the movement for the scene, based on the examples I gave for the beginning and ending moves (only the fDelay variable at the start of the function and the waypoint targeted would change with each set of GestaltActionMove commands).

In short, the script I provided is not the complete cutscene. You would have to fill in the blanks in order to get the full scene.
               
               

               


                     Modifié par Balduvard, 29 janvier 2011 - 01:12 .
                     
                  


            

Legacy_MissJaded

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 243
  • Karma: +0/-0
Gestalt Scripting Help Please??
« Reply #12 on: January 30, 2011, 05:40:13 am »


               I still DON'T understand all this at all!!
Right now, its too confusing, and I dont have DARN CLUE how to set this thing up to how I want it!!
Its all just a complete load of NONSENSE to me right now, I'm sorry to say!![smilie]../../../images/forum/emoticons/sad.png[/smilie][smilie]../../../images/forum/emoticons/sad.png[/smilie][smilie]../../../images/forum/emoticons/sad.png[/smilie]
               
               

               


                     Modifié par MissJaded, 30 janvier 2011 - 05:42 .
                     
                  


            

Legacy_Balduvard

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 126
  • Karma: +0/-0
Gestalt Scripting Help Please??
« Reply #13 on: January 30, 2011, 06:04:52 am »


               I recommend looking through the documentation and tutorial again; everything about the usage of Gestalt's scripts can be garnered from there or by looking at how the scripts themselves define the functions.

Perhaps starting with a shorter, simpler cutscene would be helpful? Try removing camera motion, reducing the number of waypoints that have to be traveled, or even the number of actors to the point where you can get the cutscene to run as you envision it, then expand from your working foundation.
               
               

               
            

Legacy_Greyfort

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 442
  • Karma: +0/-0
Gestalt Scripting Help Please??
« Reply #14 on: January 30, 2011, 07:26:33 am »


               I have a example mod of how to set is up MissJaded if you give me a PM with yr email I can send it to you or if you like I can post it on the vault I got it to work and it looks rather nice the camera smooth i have not got the details quite right but still it would help you