Author Topic: change placeable appearance  (Read 599 times)

Legacy_DM_Vecna

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 501
  • Karma: +0/-0
change placeable appearance
« on: August 03, 2010, 12:19:33 am »


               I am having a brain freeze right now.

Is it possible to change the appearance of a placeable through a scripting command?

e.g. can I make an invisible placeable visible when triggered? I don't want to just create a new one as it has contents and I would rather just make it visible.  

Thanks for any help!
               
               

               
            

Legacy_Builder_Anthony

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 786
  • Karma: +0/-0
change placeable appearance
« Reply #1 on: August 03, 2010, 12:24:38 am »


               You could destroy the placeable thats there then spawn a new one in the same spot.



As for making it visable i would just have it in a custom item catagory and spawn it in thereby keeping your inventory intact.

               
               

               
            

Legacy_Builder_Anthony

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 786
  • Karma: +0/-0
change placeable appearance
« Reply #2 on: August 03, 2010, 12:26:51 am »


               You could try and hide your invisable object under another placeable and destroy that one so youll be able to see it.
               
               

               
            

Legacy_Blasco-Yang

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
  • Karma: +0/-0
change placeable appearance
« Reply #3 on: August 03, 2010, 01:28:16 am »


               Unless I'm mistaken, you can apply a cutscene invisibility effect on the placeable and remove it later via scripting.

Seems like I recall that SunJammer created a series of identical placeables with that effect and removed the effect in quick order to create the illusion of "moving placeables" in one of his library of functions.

Hopefully, I got the link right:
www.sunjammer.co.uk/
               
               

               


                     Modifié par Blasco-Yang, 03 août 2010 - 12:31 .
                     
                  


            

Legacy_420

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 370
  • Karma: +0/-0
change placeable appearance
« Reply #4 on: August 03, 2010, 07:40:14 pm »


               

Blasco-Yang wrote...

Unless I'm mistaken, you can apply a cutscene invisibility effect on the placeable and remove it later via scripting.

Seems like I recall that SunJammer created a series of identical placeables with that effect and removed the effect in quick order to create the illusion of "moving placeables" in one of his library of functions.

Hopefully, I got the link right:
www.sunjammer.co.uk/

I used this method to create a ship's steering wheel that spun back and forth. Just placed a bunch of the same object down in slightly different possitions then made all but one cutscene invisible at a time. The destroy/create method can create problems if you stay in the area to long. The fps drops and the game starts to lag until you leave the area.

ApplyEffectToObject(DURATION_TYPE_PERMANENT, EffectVisualEffect(VFX_DUR_CUTSCENE_INVISIBILITY), oObject);


-420
               
               

               
            

Legacy_Builder_Anthony

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 786
  • Karma: +0/-0
change placeable appearance
« Reply #5 on: August 04, 2010, 01:47:55 am »


               Wow thats a good idea useing cutscene.
               
               

               
            

Legacy_Jez_fr

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 460
  • Karma: +0/-0
change placeable appearance
« Reply #6 on: August 04, 2010, 02:09:45 am »


               Maybe you could just teleport (ActionJumpToLocation) the plc where you want it to be from a remote secret area? That would remove the maybe unwanted side effect of possibly bouncing of the invisible plc if the PC inadvertantly want to walk through it.
               
               

               
            

Legacy_420

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 370
  • Karma: +0/-0
change placeable appearance
« Reply #7 on: August 04, 2010, 06:17:09 pm »


               

Jez_fr wrote...

Maybe you could just teleport (ActionJumpToLocation) the plc where you want it to be from a remote secret area? That would remove the maybe unwanted side effect of possibly bouncing of the invisible plc if the PC inadvertantly want to walk through it.

You can use SetFacing() to rotate a placeable but you can't actually move placeables to a different location.

-420