Author Topic: Holding hands (IK & constraints)  (Read 274 times)

Legacy_Rolo Kipp

Holding hands (IK & constraints)
« on: February 18, 2012, 08:47:17 pm »

<singing an old insect tune...>

Hello again! =)

I thought of just beating my brains in pounding against the various video tutorials out there <thought that's what you were doing the last five hours, boss?> Hush.

Then I remembered all my learned and helpful friends here =)

This all pertains to Cestus' Oni

'Image

What I want to do, and I am sure it *can* be done, no matter how clueless I am, is rig IK chains on the oni_ arms and constrain the oni_*hand so that they are superimposed over the base hands. That is, I want Max to do all the work and not fiddle with 1500 frames of animation for 6 parts.

Here's the heirarchy:
'Image

I have never worked with IK or constraints before, doing all my animation one joint at a time by hand. Takes a *lot* of time and gives me rather rough anims.

So I'm asking if anyone has a particularly clear IK tutorial they could point me to, or would be willing (OTR? Six? Bannor?) to write up a NwN-slanted tutorial on rigging IK and how to get the keys so you can export a MDL.

<...badly off-key)

Legacy_OldTimeRadio

« Reply #1 on: February 24, 2012, 10:15:34 pm »

I guess the question posed is "How to get the same animations to play through two differently scaled models which are part of the same model?"  I don't know the answer to that one.  You could make the Oni a cloak and, I believe, scale the animations there.  There is also the possibility of doing some sort of NWN Trickeryâ„¢ like simply renaming your Oni bits to have the same name as your main model and hope that the animation events fire through both.  In a case like that, though, you're throwing yourself on the mercy of potentially having position keys in the animations which would throw your Oni's animations off.  Worth a shot though.

Maybe someone else has a simpler approach?