Author Topic: Noob 2da/CEP Questions  (Read 419 times)

Legacy_Hardcore UFO

Noob 2da/CEP Questions
« on: August 12, 2011, 01:06:43 pm »

Hello, I'm a noob.

I've been building a module for a little while, making it pretty with hopes of someday setting it up as a PW. I got into scripting to refine parts of the spells and so on, which was an enriching transition. Now I'm having to get involved in ... FILES! Here is where I'm at a total loss. My questions are as follows:

1) First of all, if I modify a CEP 2.4 file at all (i.e. extract "baseitems.2da" from "cep2_add_sb_v1", modify it to what I want, then re-insert it in the sam hak), will my module-to-be require players to download a version of my modified CEP files, or will CEP in itself suffice?

2) Second, will modifications as detailed in 1) mess with backwards compatibility of CEP 2.4?

3) Is there another way to have both CEP and a customized 2da if that 2da is already in a CEP hak?

Thanks in advance!

-----

P.S. If you like low-magic and low-level worlds with focus on immersion, I could always use some help. The project is born mostly from the enjoyment of basking in mystery that I got when I was totally new to NWN and to D&D and all these forces were swirling around. I'd like to retain an IC sense of mystery similar to that, where players cannot just hit up a wiki page for info, but let the elements resolve or reveal themselves in the module's own narrative. Oh, and it's based in Chondath just because (3.5, since 4th edition thoroughly removes a chunk of the interesting elements I was planning to use from that region). There's leeway for cusomizing away from FR lore, since I'm not an expert on it, and some spell effects already do that. Anyway, let me know if that interests you. Oh, and if you can answer my questions above.

Legacy_SHOVA

Noob 2da/CEP Questions
« Reply #1 on: August 12, 2011, 01:50:31 pm »

Hello UFO.
1 yes, you can do it that way, but most here will tell you it is a bad idea.