Author Topic: Direct connect  (Read 357 times)

Legacy_xraytec

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
Direct connect
« on: May 12, 2016, 02:37:08 am »


               

 Is there still a way to direct connect with a friend to play the original campaign, and expansions. We tried for a few hours last night using our ip address, and kept getting error not found timed out. Don't know if it could be a windows 10 firewall issue? or just cannot connect anymore through the game. Any ideas? I would really appreciate the help. We were also going to try it on NWN2 with the same problems.



               
               

               
            

Legacy_KMdS!

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 364
  • Karma: +0/-0
Direct connect
« Reply #1 on: May 12, 2016, 03:14:57 am »


               

Direct connect still functions.....It will have something to do with the server hosts firewall. Also make sure the game clients don't use the same port or only one of you can connect if one of you is using the internet to connect and the other is on the lan the server is on.



               
               

               
            

Legacy_ehye_khandee

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1415
  • Karma: +0/-0
Direct connect
« Reply #2 on: May 12, 2016, 04:29:41 am »


               

google port forwarding and NWN for  more information on that topic too.



               
               

               
            

Legacy_Empyre65

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 662
  • Karma: +0/-0
Direct connect
« Reply #3 on: May 12, 2016, 10:16:45 pm »


               

"our ip address"


Are the two of you together on a LAN? If so, then you need to use the local IP address of the one hosting within your LAN, which will either start with 192.168 or 10.0.



               
               

               
            

Legacy_Lightfoot8

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4797
  • Karma: +0/-0
Direct connect
« Reply #4 on: May 12, 2016, 10:40:04 pm »


               If you are not on the same local network and you are using an IP address that starts with 192 or 10 , you are using the wrong IP.


Also are you adding the port of the server to the IP.


Example   192.168.1.50:5152

Would connect to a server using port 5152

and since the IP starts with 192 IT IS a local IP and will not go out over the web