Author Topic: Avatars  (Read 354 times)

Legacy_HipMaestro

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2849
  • Karma: +0/-0
Avatars
« on: July 18, 2010, 08:08:37 pm »


               How do I add a custom avatar to the lame abreviated list already provided by the forum?  Tried dragging a 60x60 jpg, gif & png to the list but no soap.':pinched:'

Or is this only a feature available to the chosen few who are able to register their games? You'd think with all the bells and whistles concocted at least this minor customization would be easy to accomodate.  But perhaps I am asking for blood from a stone.  Dunno.

Help anyone?
               
               

               
            

Legacy_Balduvard

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 126
  • Karma: +0/-0
Avatars
« Reply #1 on: July 18, 2010, 08:20:31 pm »


               This was brought up in the welcome thread. This guide should get you on your way.
How to upload a custom avatar without Dragon Age PC
               
               

               


                     Modifié par Balduvard, 18 juillet 2010 - 07:21 .
                     
                  


            

Legacy_Belnor

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 27
  • Karma: +0/-0
Avatars
« Reply #2 on: July 18, 2010, 08:38:07 pm »


               

Balduvard wrote...

This was brought up in the welcome thread. This guide should get you on your way.
How to upload a custom avatar without Dragon Age PC


Yep, and it provides links to both the character generator and gimp, both of which you will need. Trust me, you'll love your new self. '<img'>

Bel.
               
               

               


                     Modifié par Belnor, 18 juillet 2010 - 07:38 .
                     
                  


            

Legacy_HipMaestro

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2849
  • Karma: +0/-0
Avatars
« Reply #3 on: July 20, 2010, 01:58:21 pm »


               

Belnor wrote...

Balduvard wrote...

This was brought up in the welcome thread. This guide should get you on your way.
How to upload a custom avatar without Dragon Age PC


Yep, and it provides links to both the character generator and gimp, both of which you will need. Trust me, you'll love your new self. '<img'>

Bel.


Re: GIMP - Paint Shop Pro works just fine, BTW.

Alas...

Boo hoo ':crying:'

Unfortunately, after 23 hours of finally successfully downloading the DA Character Creator and creating a suitable png image, I was abruptly informed when clicking "Play" that my video card is not adequate to run the creator.  That means I'm SOL because DA's requirements (and consequently these DA-formatted forums) forces me to upgrade a perfectly viable PC configuration that is otherwise more than suitable to run NWN and all its permutations (toolset, CEP, PRC, custom modules, etc.) just to interact fully with this new, improved forum.

Understand.  I have no intention of buying Dragon Age... now or in the future.  NWN has answered all my expectations.

So... for those of you with later model PCs, this 318Mb download may work... but for the rest of us... we have been left in the dust of the good old, non-discretionary Bioware boards.

It would be wise to point out to those trying to accomodate what SHOULD be a relatively simple request (stinkin' CUSTOM AVATARS !!!!!) to examine thoroughly the published system requirements for the character creator... for they are NOT lenient.

*poof*
               
               

               
            

Legacy_Bard Simpson

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 276
  • Karma: +0/-0
Avatars
« Reply #4 on: July 20, 2010, 05:29:12 pm »


               Heya, Hip! I know what you mean about the Character Creator; I downloaded it months ago only to find it was a tad too much for my old computer (which was much more than capable of handling NWN). With a sparkly new machine, I can't use it since I'm running only Linux now. Oh well, at least NWN has a Linux client; I'll keep playing and learn to live with a silly white box for an avatar.'<img'>
               
               

               
            

Legacy_HipMaestro

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2849
  • Karma: +0/-0
Avatars
« Reply #5 on: July 20, 2010, 07:10:50 pm »


               Ahhh... Bard's here so there is hope for the ancients yet!  *s*



Yeah. Many times the minimum requirements posted are but a rough guideline and one can still use the software without high-end and perhaps just a performance hit.  But not the case here.



Too bad about your Linux limitation but you have a highly stable OS running there so my guess is that it will be worth it.  *waves*