Author Topic: Has anyone been able to mod Toolset?  (Read 8800 times)

Baaleos

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1916
  • Karma: +0/-0
Has anyone been able to mod Toolset?
« on: June 15, 2011, 03:30:59 pm »


               Has anyone been able to make any mod's or hacks that allow improvements to the default nwtoolset.exe


eg - Larger Compiler memory, 
        Less Runtime errors etc.


I recently ran into a crash that occured while trying to build all my scripts, it occured always on the same script.

To resolve it, I had to move the function call into a script of its own.

Was kinda annoying.

I was wondering if anyone had any success with modifying the nwtoolset.exe to improve it?

eg - Use an external compiler etc
               
               

               
            

Legacy_Calvinthesneak

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1159
  • Karma: +0/-0
Has anyone been able to mod Toolset?
« Reply #1 on: June 15, 2011, 04:53:25 pm »


               I belive the PRC team has an external compiler.  You'd probably have to ask XWarren about that one though.
               
               

               
            

Legacy_virusman

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 448
  • Karma: +0/-0
Has anyone been able to mod Toolset?
« Reply #2 on: June 15, 2011, 08:32:47 pm »


               No, there are no symbols for Toolset, and it's been compiled with Borland C++, making it harder to analyze and hook.
               
               

               


                     Modifié par virusman, 15 juin 2011 - 07:33 .
                     
                  


            

Legacy_FunkySwerve

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2325
  • Karma: +0/-0
Has anyone been able to mod Toolset?
« Reply #3 on: June 16, 2011, 02:05:14 am »


               Use the PRC compiler - it's a modified version of the bioware one, but far superior.
Linkage

I had a lovely post on the old boards talking about how to use it effectively, along with a link to our batch file. Perhaps that archive retrieval utility can find it. Here's the batch file, at least:


@ECHO OFF
set mask="%1*.nss"
CD C:\\NeverwinterNights\\NWN\\MODULES\\TEMP0
..\\..\\NWNNSSCOMP.EXE -cego %mask%
CD ..\\..
PAUSE

That, placed in your NWN folder, with nwnnsscomp.ext, will compile all script names matching whatever you type.

For example:

compile e

will compile all scripts beginning with 'e'. Very handy for compiling scriptsets.

Aside from batch compiling capability, it can handle far more identifiers than the bioware compiler, circular includes, and points out errors the bioware compiler misses.

Funky
               
               

               
            

Legacy_Shadooow

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7698
  • Karma: +0/-0
Has anyone been able to mod Toolset?
« Reply #4 on: June 16, 2011, 12:11:58 pm »


               Funky but I believe Baaleos do know PRC compiler. He just want override toolset to use PRC one instead default. Which is very reasonable and I want it too. The toolset script editor is very powerfull tool, no external text editor can replace it at all, so adjust toolset to use the PRC compiler when script compiling would be superior.
               
               

               
            

Legacy_FunkySwerve

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2325
  • Karma: +0/-0
Has anyone been able to mod Toolset?
« Reply #5 on: June 16, 2011, 12:23:49 pm »


               From the crash he was describing, it doesn't sound like he was using the PRC to compile. In any event, I'm also interested in being able to have the toolset run nwnnsscomp.

Funky
               
               

               
            

Baaleos

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1916
  • Karma: +0/-0
Has anyone been able to mod Toolset?
« Reply #6 on: June 16, 2011, 01:02:16 pm »


               I might make a C# Front end to the nwnnsscomp, just to make it more user friendly.

But I would have loved to have the ability to have it replace the default bioware compiler, and have the bioware toolset, use the 3rd party compiler.


The crash I was getting, I dont understand why it was crashing, no circular dependencies or anything.

Was just an onChat script, that called a function from an include file.

In order to fix it, I had to take the function call and the include out of the onChat script, and put into a separate script, and call it via ExecuteScript.

Annoyingly, the repeated crashes, corrupted my module, and I needed to revert a few versions back.
It made it so that some of my resources were not showing in pallette, even though they were in the temp.0 folder.
               
               

               
            

Legacy_PlasmaJohn

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 150
  • Karma: +0/-0
Has anyone been able to mod Toolset?
« Reply #7 on: June 16, 2011, 03:11:43 pm »


               The stock Bioware compiler has certain limitations that nwnscomp works around.  You probably got bit by #include explosion.  Usually it's a good sign that whatever blew up is getting too complicated.

That said, nwnscomp optimizes much better than stock and since we've moved a large number of our common scripts to ResMan, we use this all the time.

By the way, the toolset was written in Delphi, not C++.  This was the excuse given why there was no toolset for Linux or Mac users.
               
               

               
            

Legacy_virusman

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 448
  • Karma: +0/-0
Has anyone been able to mod Toolset?
« Reply #8 on: June 16, 2011, 03:25:27 pm »


               It's definitely not Delphi, but Borland C++ had the same problems with portability.
Anyway, I've found the function and will try to hook it to replace the compiler.
               
               

               


                     Modifié par virusman, 16 juin 2011 - 02:28 .
                     
                  


            

Legacy_Shadooow

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7698
  • Karma: +0/-0
Has anyone been able to mod Toolset?
« Reply #9 on: June 16, 2011, 04:25:43 pm »


               

virusman wrote...

It's definitely not Delphi, but Borland C++ had the same problems with portability.
Anyway, I've found the function and will try to hook it to replace the compiler.

wohooo that would be totally awesome! Thanks virusman that you care '<img'>
               
               

               
            

Legacy_PlasmaJohn

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 150
  • Karma: +0/-0
Has anyone been able to mod Toolset?
« Reply #10 on: June 16, 2011, 04:59:37 pm »


               

virusman wrote...

It's definitely not Delphi,

':blink:' I stand corrected.  
               
               

               
            

Legacy_FunkySwerve

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2325
  • Karma: +0/-0
Has anyone been able to mod Toolset?
« Reply #11 on: June 16, 2011, 05:05:14 pm »


               

virusman wrote...

It's definitely not Delphi, but Borland C++ had the same problems with portability.
Anyway, I've found the function and will try to hook it to replace the compiler.

*Cheers* '<img'>
               
               

               
            

Baaleos

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1916
  • Karma: +0/-0
Has anyone been able to mod Toolset?
« Reply #12 on: June 17, 2011, 01:51:54 pm »


               Ooooh,
Cool
I look forward to having a superior compiler working through nwntoolset, it would make things alot easier.
               
               

               
            

Legacy_virusman

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 448
  • Karma: +0/-0
Has anyone been able to mod Toolset?
« Reply #13 on: June 18, 2011, 12:46:49 am »


               NWN Toolset Extender 1.0.0 + Compiler plugin
Required CRT: http://www.microsoft...ls.aspx?id=5555
Download: http://data.virusman...piler-1.0.0.rar
Install: Just unpack the files to your NWN folder and use NWNTX Loader.exe to launch the Toolset. The compiler will be switched seamlessly.
Thanks a lot to Skywing for the help and for his compiler library.
               
               

               


                     Modifié par virusman, 17 juin 2011 - 11:48 .
                     
                  


            

Legacy_Failed.Bard

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1409
  • Karma: +0/-0
Has anyone been able to mod Toolset?
« Reply #14 on: June 18, 2011, 12:57:56 am »


               Where's that '<3' emoticon when I need it?