Author Topic: saved while dying  (Read 588 times)

Legacy_MrZork

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1643
  • Karma: +0/-0
saved while dying
« Reply #15 on: December 19, 2011, 05:05:12 am »


               The leader should be in area 6 of that map. He isn't a spawn or anything, so it's not as if a script could have misfired and not created him. His name is Urko.

If you say you haven't seen him and you haven't come across his remains (he has a hammer and a plot item you will recognize), then you need to be more exact about what happened in the crypt. Did you talk to someone behind the door to room 6 when you approached that room? What happened from there?

You might also try to see if you've already killed him by the following. At the chat line enter the following three lines
##DebugMode 1
##dm_getmodulevarint q5_Urko_Status
##DebugMode 0
After the second line, the value of q5_Urko_Status should be displayed in the combat log. Post that number (0, 1, or 2, I think) and that might help someone here see what's going on.
               
               

               
            

Legacy_jmlzemaggo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1869
  • Karma: +0/-0
saved while dying
« Reply #16 on: December 19, 2011, 09:11:51 am »


               @ grommitt
Are you playing with Tony K's AI?
'cause if you are, and depending on the options you chose while installing it, that kobold could be almost anywhere on that map, if you allowed (the option for) foes to open the doors, even the locked and trapped ones, for instance.
               
               

               
            

Legacy_MrZork

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1643
  • Karma: +0/-0
saved while dying
« Reply #17 on: December 19, 2011, 01:10:29 pm »


               Good point, jml. In addition, Tony K's AI let's stealthy characters be stealthy, so if grommitt's character doesn't have high enough listen or spot skills, it's possible to miss a hidden NPC. Urko has a relatively high stealth ability, so one has to be thorough to make sure he isn't tucked away in a corner somewhere in stealth mode.

Grommitt, another way to check what's going on is to open your saved game using the DM Client. Even without your PC logged in, you can use the DM character to check on the NPCs.

1) Open the DM Client and load your saved game.
2) Use the Chooser and expand (click the + char) the Elven Crypt, Lower Level entry.
3) Expand the Creatures list and, near the bottom, click on Urko.
4) Click the leftmost button at the top of the chooser, the one that says "Goto". That will move your ghost-like DM character so that he is standing right inside of Urko, wherever that may be.

If step 3) doesn't list Urko, he may either A) already be dead (and I don't know if the DM tool makes it easy to find his remains, but they will still be laying around until you've emptied them) or 'B)' he may have wandered off the Elven Crypt Lower Level map. In the latter case, you can use the Find tool in the Chooser (the one with the magnifying lens icon) to find where he currently is. Just click the icon and type Urko. The Chooser will find the first creature called Urko in any area in the module and you can use Goto to see where he's at.

Anyway, if you can find him using the DM client (and the DM dude can move around while the game is paused, so none of the NPCs will have moved from their saved game positions), you can quit the DM Client and load the saved game regularly and you will at least know where Urko was at the time of the saved game.
               
               

               


                     Modifié par MrZork, 19 décembre 2011 - 01:18 .
                     
                  


            

Legacy_jmlzemaggo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1869
  • Karma: +0/-0
saved while dying
« Reply #18 on: December 19, 2011, 03:18:43 pm »


               I never tried that DM Client.app
If I do, it doesn't see any savegame (greyed box) and the multiplayer button is the only one available. Now, if I press it, nothing happens...
Oh well... ;-)
               
               

               
            

Legacy_MrZork

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1643
  • Karma: +0/-0
saved while dying
« Reply #19 on: December 19, 2011, 07:41:39 pm »


               When you press the Multiplayer button, it will take you to the Player Login screen. If you've never played multiplayer before, you may have to create a new player account (it's been a long time, but I recall that it was really easy), otherwise, just hit OK. It will pause while it tries to authorize the player name (which it can't do since the June 2011 hack), then it will say that it couldn't contact the master server and some MP services may not be available. Ignore that and click OK. Then you should be at a screen where an option exists to "Load Internet/LAN Game" and a SP saved game can be loaded (much as when using Shia's trick to modify characters).
               
               

               
            

Legacy_jmlzemaggo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1869
  • Karma: +0/-0
saved while dying
« Reply #20 on: December 19, 2011, 08:35:25 pm »


               Yep, only it stays on that first "account" screen for ever, (Mac bug?) unlike in a multiplayer session launching, which works fine.
But it doesn't matter really, as I believe all I truly cared about was having you trying to help me I guess. 
Nothing but the twisted french (pleonasm) way to say thank you. '<img'>
               
               

               
            

Legacy_MrZork

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1643
  • Karma: +0/-0
saved while dying
« Reply #21 on: December 19, 2011, 09:13:44 pm »


               '<img'> Happy to have tried to help. Maybe it is a Mac thing, though I checked before posting that last note and didn't see anything about DM Client oddness in the Mac FAQ.

BTW, as someone who often finds that I have used "an army of words to escort a corporal of thought", I appreciate the pleonasm. :-)
               
               

               
            

Legacy_jmlzemaggo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1869
  • Karma: +0/-0
saved while dying
« Reply #22 on: December 19, 2011, 09:57:06 pm »


               Don't be so modest, Z: if Napoleon ever had as many men in his army than you have words in yours, even MrZork would be speaking french right now, with a black beret on the head and a baguette in your left arm... and Brigitte Bardot in the right one! A true nightmare. 
Nighty night. 
               
               

               
            

Legacy_MrZork

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1643
  • Karma: +0/-0
saved while dying
« Reply #23 on: December 19, 2011, 11:03:00 pm »


               If I remember my high school history, Napoleon's army was supposed to have had over half a million men at its peak, though maybe most of them were not French. I have never counted the words in my head, but I doubt they come close. However, I suspect that if the Grande Armée had consisted of even just 50,000 baguettes and 50,000 Bardots (mid-1960s edition), I might be speaking French today without a shot ever having been fired. ':lol:'