Author Topic: Quick bar behaviour - don't open, just use.  (Read 541 times)

Legacy_3RavensMore

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1153
  • Karma: +0/-0
Quick bar behaviour - don't open, just use.
« on: June 09, 2012, 09:03:31 pm »


               I've created a custom container, and I want to make it 'usable' from the quick bar, but when left-clicked from the quick bar, it opens it, instead of uses it.  Is there any way to change this behavior from open to use?
               
               

               
            

Legacy_ehye_khandee

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1415
  • Karma: +0/-0
Quick bar behaviour - don't open, just use.
« Reply #1 on: June 09, 2012, 10:01:02 pm »


               It is a CONTAINER, this is what containers do when you use them; allow you to access the container's inventory. What did you want it to do aside from that?
               
               

               
            

Legacy_lordofworms

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 422
  • Karma: +0/-0
Quick bar behaviour - don't open, just use.
« Reply #2 on: June 09, 2012, 10:28:22 pm »


               funny enough, I was looking at doing the same thing, so I am following this thread.

I wanted to use it like so.

the item (which is a custom container)
I want to be able to put ammo INTO it, and then when used it takes (1) of the items from the stack of (bullets,arrows,etc)
the problem is as 3Ravens posted:

when used in quickbar it Opens the container.
if *used* from inventory it works as it should
but it kinda defeats the whole purpose if it doesnt work from quickbar since the quickbar would be the preferred method
               
               

               
            

Legacy_WhiZard

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2149
  • Karma: +0/-0
Quick bar behaviour - don't open, just use.
« Reply #3 on: June 09, 2012, 10:54:37 pm »


               

lordofworms wrote...

funny enough, I was looking at doing the same thing, so I am following this thread.

I wanted to use it like so.

the item (which is a custom container)
I want to be able to put ammo INTO it, and then when used it takes (1) of the items from the stack of (bullets,arrows,etc)
the problem is as 3Ravens posted:

when used in quickbar it Opens the container.
if *used* from inventory it works as it should
but it kinda defeats the whole purpose if it doesnt work from quickbar since the quickbar would be the preferred method


I haven't made a container with a cast spell property, but going by how other items react with multiple properties:

Try assigning to a quickslot then right clicking on the assigned slot and then selecting a different option from the radial.
               
               

               
            

Legacy_3RavensMore

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1153
  • Karma: +0/-0
Quick bar behaviour - don't open, just use.
« Reply #4 on: June 10, 2012, 12:03:01 am »


               I think I'll try creating a new base item type, and changed the QBBehaviour column.  btw, does anyone know what the 'Category' column does in baseitems.2da?  It's not shown here - http://nwn.wikia.com...i/Baseitems.2da
               
               

               


                     Modifié par 3RavensMore, 09 juin 2012 - 11:32 .
                     
                  


            

Legacy_ehye_khandee

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1415
  • Karma: +0/-0
Quick bar behaviour - don't open, just use.
« Reply #5 on: June 10, 2012, 12:17:29 am »


               I think you'd be better off simulating your effect than using an actual CONTAINER item. In such a case you would set a variable on the item representing the number of items it contains - perhaps a quivver might contain arrows in this way... when used the variable is decremented if used and the variable is zero, nothing happens, otherwise, PC is given the arrow perhaps. The other trick would be 'how to load' the 'quivver' - which may be accomplished via a special power of a 'control item' ... use it and target ordinary arrow items and poof, they are destroyed while the quivver has its arrow variable incremented.

I'm not certain what exact  item and effect you hope to achieve but this should give you some ideas of how it might be handled.
               
               

               
            

Legacy_3RavensMore

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1153
  • Karma: +0/-0
Quick bar behaviour - don't open, just use.
« Reply #6 on: June 10, 2012, 12:29:10 am »


               Well, changing the QBBehaviour field didn't work.
               
               

               
            

Legacy_3RavensMore

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1153
  • Karma: +0/-0
Quick bar behaviour - don't open, just use.
« Reply #7 on: June 10, 2012, 12:55:37 am »


               

WhiZard wrote...

I haven't made a container with a cast spell property, but going by how other items react with multiple properties:

Try assigning to a quickslot then right clicking on the assigned slot and then selecting a different option from the radial.


Unfortunatally, that doesn't work with a container.  The only way it's usable is from the inventory. 
               
               

               
            

Legacy_Lightfoot8

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4797
  • Karma: +0/-0
Quick bar behaviour - don't open, just use.
« Reply #8 on: June 10, 2012, 01:06:44 am »


               

3RavensMore wrote...

I think I'll try creating a new base item type, and changed the QBBehaviour column. btw, does anyone know what the 'Category' column does in baseitems.2da? It's not shown here - http://nwn.wikia.com...i/Baseitems.2da



 
Category- is an Integer the values are:


0 - none
1 - melee
2 - ranged
3 - shield
4 - armor
5 - helmet
6 - ammo
7 - thrown
8 - staves
9 - potion
10 - scroll
11 - thieves' tools
12 - misc
13 - wands
14 - rods
15 - traps
16 - misc unequippable
17 - container
19 - healers
               
               

               
            

Legacy_HipMaestro

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2849
  • Karma: +0/-0
Quick bar behaviour - don't open, just use.
« Reply #9 on: June 10, 2012, 02:58:29 am »


               The part I'm NOT following in this topic is what is trying to be achieved besides getting the container item to perform an action like switch an equipped item or cast a spell.

OP, are you trying to get a single quick slot to perform different actions dependant on a variable setting?  This seems somewhat reminiscent to that fast cast rod that queues multiple buffs with a single click on a quick slot.
               
               

               
            

Legacy_Lightfoot8

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4797
  • Karma: +0/-0
Quick bar behaviour - don't open, just use.
« Reply #10 on: June 10, 2012, 05:29:58 pm »


               

HipMaestro wrote...

The part I'm NOT following in this topic is what is trying to be achieved besides getting the container item to perform an action like switch an equipped item or cast a spell.

OP, are you trying to get a single quick slot to perform different actions dependant on a variable setting?  This seems somewhat reminiscent to that fast cast rod that queues multiple buffs with a single click on a quick slot.


 The item he is working with Is an Item that is a container that also has usable Item properties added to it.
  
 I am in the same boat as Wiz on this one, I have never made such an item.   In fact you can't make such an item without making changes to Baseitems.2da.   Standard bioware item containers do not allow usable item Properties to be added to them.   

When the OP made such 2da changes and created the Item,  he found that when the item was added to a quick slot that there was no way to change the action of the quick slot away from just opening the item.  

Unfortunately do not have much to add to the solution.   My guess is that the quick slots are mainly handled by the client and that there is little to nothing you can do from the server's side.

You could try something more along the lines of an item that mimics being a container.  
Make a unique power on the item that opens the item for the player.  
The unique power would Spawn an invisiable placeable, fill it with the items and Force the PC to open it.

That way you would only have IP on the item and the Bioware Open Item Action will no longer get in the way. 
The drawback is that the item will no longer be able to be opened by just clicking on it in the inventory.
               
               

               
            

Legacy_3RavensMore

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1153
  • Karma: +0/-0
Quick bar behaviour - don't open, just use.
« Reply #11 on: June 10, 2012, 07:53:01 pm »


               Thanks Lightfoot, I'll play around with that idea and see if I get something that works well enough.
               
               

               
            

Legacy_ehye_khandee

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1415
  • Karma: +0/-0
Quick bar behaviour - don't open, just use.
« Reply #12 on: June 11, 2012, 12:31:25 am »


               Maybe put the modified container and 2da's in a hak and put them on client side?