Author Topic: black out mini map  (Read 320 times)

Legacy_Surek

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 169
  • Karma: +0/-0
black out mini map
« on: September 26, 2014, 09:22:09 pm »


               

I know this question has been asked many times But I can’t seem to find an up to date solution for this
How do I block out the mini map? Essentially not just for standard bio ware tile sets but community made tile sets as well. I tried the scripting method but it does not seem to work. Are there any solutions for this out their?



               
               

               
            

Legacy_MerricksDad

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2105
  • Karma: +0/-0
black out mini map
« Reply #1 on: September 26, 2014, 09:51:17 pm »


               

Do you mean you want the minimap parts to be black? Because that should be simple replacement (hak or override) of the minimap tiles with an all black version. If that is what you mean, I can be more descriptive.


               
               

               
            

Legacy_Surek

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 169
  • Karma: +0/-0
black out mini map
« Reply #2 on: September 26, 2014, 11:25:23 pm »


               

Yes I would like to just black out the mini map so the PC can't use it. the player won't be able to see anything on the mini map. does not matter if its a hak or override. I hope that makes sense.



               
               

               
            

Legacy_Iskadrow

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 43
  • Karma: +0/-0
black out mini map
« Reply #3 on: September 27, 2014, 12:25:02 am »


               

If you want to be more selective: Create an alternate version of the .set file of the tileset you want to use where all minimap references point to a black image like this one. That's how the "No Map" version of the DLA sewers works.



               
               

               
            

Legacy_Lightfoot8

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4797
  • Karma: +0/-0
black out mini map
« Reply #4 on: September 27, 2014, 12:43:38 am »


               

Are the mini maps client based?   


 


Asked another way.    could you give one distribution to players where they would have blank maps and another to DM's so they could see what is going on?   



               
               

               
            

Legacy_Iskadrow

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 43
  • Karma: +0/-0
black out mini map
« Reply #5 on: September 27, 2014, 02:10:46 am »


               

Yes.



               
               

               
            

Legacy_BelowTheBelt

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 699
  • Karma: +0/-0
black out mini map
« Reply #6 on: September 27, 2014, 03:28:59 am »


               

A simple scripting method using a pseudo heartbeat can reset the map to blank (with the exception of the immediate area surrounding the PC.


 


Void Unexplore(object oPC)


{


if (GetLocalInt(oPC, "Unexplore"))


    {


    ExploreAreaForPlayer(GetArea(oPC), oPC, FALSE);


    DelayCommand (6.0, Unexplore(oPC));


    }


}


 


You wouldn't want to run this all the time, but if you have selective need for it you can put in toggles to turn it on and off by setting and deleting the Unexplore int on the PC.



               
               

               
            

Legacy__six

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1436
  • Karma: +0/-0
black out mini map
« Reply #7 on: September 28, 2014, 07:09:49 pm »


               

So there's actually a separate gui model file for every possible area size (4x4, 4x5, 5x4 all the way up to 32x32). One cool thing you can try if you're ambitious is to make an area you want to blank out the map for a specific size, and not use that size for any other area in the game. Then edit the model so it's just a black plane. I must admited I've forgotten how I achieved this precisely, but I might(?) be able to dig up some files if you're interested. Messing with NWN UI can be a little awkward because the game assumes there are certain objects in the models. However I've done it before with that method.


 


You can also do some super cool stuff that way, like having a hand painted map for certain areas by making each area a unique size and having the model for that area size include a map texture.


 


The models are in the aurora_gui.bif file and are named pnl_mapgen_XxY.mdl. I'll take a guess that removing one of the dummy nodes MapCenter, Viewport0 and Viewport1 might be enough to disable maps from showing entirely for that area size.