Author Topic: Is it possible to limit classes selectable in a module?  (Read 311 times)

Legacy_JediMindTrix

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 383
  • Karma: +0/-0
Is it possible to limit classes selectable in a module?
« on: January 30, 2013, 11:57:16 pm »


               I want to limit the player from being able to select divine/nature classes in character creation, but I don't want to not have any Clerics or Druids, etc, in the module. So is it possible to make it so that the player cannot choose those classes while still allowing access to those classes for NPC's in the toolset?

Cheers!

-NineCoronas
               
               

               


                     Modifié par NineCoronas2021, 30 janvier 2013 - 11:57 .
                     
                  


            

Legacy_Squatting Monk

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 776
  • Karma: +0/-0
Is it possible to limit classes selectable in a module?
« Reply #1 on: January 31, 2013, 03:21:38 am »


               In classes.2da, set Playerclass to 0.
               
               

               


                     Modifié par Squatting Monk, 31 janvier 2013 - 03:22 .
                     
                  


            

Legacy_henesua

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6519
  • Karma: +0/-0
Is it possible to limit classes selectable in a module?
« Reply #2 on: January 31, 2013, 03:24:53 am »


               Thats a good way to do it. Another way is to mimic the Prestige class requirements for the base classes. That way you can set conditions that a player could attain during the course of play to take those classes. What I do in Arnheim is forbid base classes for which the PC lacks the correct flag. For the ABC if you want to limit certain classes at character creation you could make only a few specific classes available per default conditions.

One of the prestige class requirements is that a local var be set.  Check out the requirement called "VAR"
               
               

               


                     Modifié par henesua, 31 janvier 2013 - 03:27 .
                     
                  


            

Legacy_Shadooow

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7698
  • Karma: +0/-0
Is it possible to limit classes selectable in a module?
« Reply #3 on: January 31, 2013, 05:56:11 am »


               Variable-based class limitation, that henesua suggest will however allow player to create a new character with such class, this limitation works only ingame, while the 2DA method, at least for single player modules (and I assume this is SP mod) works also in character creation. Still it probably will be  possible (maybe only when ELC off) to enter this module with a premaded character of that class, but you can limit this further via scripting and boot any character that doesnt met your criteriums (too high lvl, disallowed class...)

Also the variable method does not allow to disable base classes unless you using my unofficial patch or unless you modify classes.2da on your own.
               
               

               
            

Legacy_henesua

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6519
  • Karma: +0/-0
Is it possible to limit classes selectable in a module?
« Reply #4 on: January 31, 2013, 12:43:30 pm »


               

ShaDoOoW wrote...

Variable-based class limitation, that henesua suggest will however allow player to create a new character with such class, this limitation works only ingame,

I could have sworn that you were wrong about this since I had used both methods in an unreleased single player module as well as Arnheim which has been through plenty of playtest and multiplayer games. But I just tested it and you are correct. It appears that all of the classes ignore the "PreReqTable" column during character creation.

My guess is that the "PreReqTable" column is only used on Level Up. Is that everyone else's understanding?

I have verified countless times that the prereqtable works in all situations on level up. All you need do is edit classes.2da and create a table with one requirement and it works.
               
               

               


                     Modifié par henesua, 31 janvier 2013 - 12:45 .
                     
                  


            

Legacy_Shadooow

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7698
  • Karma: +0/-0
Is it possible to limit classes selectable in a module?
« Reply #5 on: January 31, 2013, 02:45:32 pm »


               im sure that prereqs works within toolset levelup wizard as well, but not sure about initial character creation (icc) - I would guess that not, given you cant take prestige class in icc and that base classes normally doesnt have any limitations. Even if it works, the variables are unset meaning 0 which means allowed - maybe if the variable liitation had to be 1 to allow class it could work in icc - untested if you are willing i would like to know results
               
               

               


                     Modifié par ShaDoOoW, 31 janvier 2013 - 02:46 .
                     
                  


            

Legacy_henesua

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6519
  • Karma: +0/-0
Is it possible to limit classes selectable in a module?
« Reply #6 on: January 31, 2013, 03:08:35 pm »


               No, you were correct the first time.
I tested it this morning, and none of the prereqs seem to affect initial character creation at all. I tried setting a variety of different prereqs for base classes and prestige classes (removed all prereqs) and it made no difference.

For the record I require variables be equal to 1 for a class to advance in Arnheim. It made more sense for a variable named "ALLOW_**" so I went with that.
               
               

               
            

Legacy_Shadooow

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7698
  • Karma: +0/-0
Is it possible to limit classes selectable in a module?
« Reply #7 on: January 31, 2013, 03:36:17 pm »


               

henesua wrote...

For the record I require variables be equal to 1 for a class to advance in Arnheim. It made more sense for a variable named "ALLOW_**" so I went with that.

i see, does the prereq work in toolset then? will it allow you to take prestige class for a NPC without setting this variable ?

mean in levelup wizard, in NPC class Tab prerequisities are ignored.
               
               

               


                     Modifié par ShaDoOoW, 31 janvier 2013 - 03:37 .
                     
                  


            

Legacy_henesua

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6519
  • Karma: +0/-0
Is it possible to limit classes selectable in a module?
« Reply #8 on: January 31, 2013, 03:47:44 pm »


               hmm... i've never used the levelup wizard. but yeah, that would be good to know.
               
               

               
            

Legacy_Shadooow

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7698
  • Karma: +0/-0
Is it possible to limit classes selectable in a module?
« Reply #9 on: January 31, 2013, 06:16:53 pm »


               tested: levelup wizard ignore the variable prerequisities for any class
               
               

               
            

Legacy_JediMindTrix

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 383
  • Karma: +0/-0
Is it possible to limit classes selectable in a module?
« Reply #10 on: January 31, 2013, 10:11:50 pm »


               Is it possible in the same vein as this, to limit the number of familiars selectable by sorc/wizards, or perhaps prevent them for taking them entirely?
               
               

               
            

Legacy_Rolo Kipp

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4349
  • Karma: +0/-0
Is it possible to limit classes selectable in a module?
« Reply #11 on: January 31, 2013, 11:01:52 pm »


               <getting this one...>

Open up hen_familiar.2da in a text editor ;-)

Muck it up all you want...(you might want to keep a backup copy, though ;-)
It lists all the standard familiars (and the *base* name of the resref used).
Delete the ones you don't want them using and include this 2da in your hak.

If you want to get really creative, look over Henesua's Innocuous Familiars project for this month's CCC ;-)

<...because he actually knows it>
               
               

               
            

Legacy_JediMindTrix

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 383
  • Karma: +0/-0
Is it possible to limit classes selectable in a module?
« Reply #12 on: January 31, 2013, 11:38:09 pm »


               Making all of them inaccessible won't somehow muck up character creation?

I suppose I could alternately remove "Summon Familiar" from the feat list, or change the script that fires in response.