Author Topic: Custom Skills & Feats Problem  (Read 354 times)

Legacy_Ralthis

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 90
  • Karma: +0/-0
Custom Skills & Feats Problem
« on: November 06, 2011, 01:00:17 am »


               Hi all,

I've made a custom skill and a few custom feats that work great in single player. However, in multiplayer during character creation the only person who can select the feats or put points into the custom skills seems to be the player who is hosting the game. After levelling up later, however, all players can pick from the custom skills and custom feats. Is this a normal problem? How can I fix this?

Thanks!
               
               

               
            

Legacy_Lightfoot8

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4797
  • Karma: +0/-0
Custom Skills & Feats Problem
« Reply #1 on: November 06, 2011, 01:12:45 am »


               It sounds like the Person who is hosting the module has placed the skills/custom feats into the override directory.

The problem you are having is that in multiplayer Haks are not loaded untill after character creation. In single player haks are loaded before character creation.

EDIT:  Just wanted to add: Character creation is also handled by the client not the server.
               
               

               


                     Modifié par Lightfoot8, 06 novembre 2011 - 01:14 .
                     
                  


            

Legacy_gutwrench66kg

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 278
  • Karma: +0/-0
Custom Skills & Feats Problem
« Reply #2 on: November 06, 2011, 09:41:07 am »


               That gives you only a handful of solutions

Mainly that you'll have to extract a few of those 2das into your override directory as well... unless the server is allowing localvault characters, in which case you could simply build a module with the same haks, and create a new character via the single player method... save the char to your localvault and you're good to go.

or do the same thing, and have the host drop it into your servervault folder if the chars are stored on the server.
               
               

               
            

Legacy_Failed.Bard

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1409
  • Karma: +0/-0
Custom Skills & Feats Problem
« Reply #3 on: November 06, 2011, 11:59:22 am »


               For my mod, I handled that by using NWNX to set all their skills to 0, then set their saved skill points to their maximum for race and class, and gave enough XP to reach level 2.  That way they could do their initial full skill point distribution in game, without needing any overrides.
               
               

               
            

Legacy_Shadooow

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7698
  • Karma: +0/-0
Custom Skills & Feats Problem
« Reply #4 on: November 06, 2011, 12:17:30 pm »


               The override is the simples and most elaborated way to do that. The way Failed.Bard is talking about is great as well but you need NWNX and also some workaround to allow the player to change feat at 1st level if he wished to take a new custom one. The same with a custom class.

So yes its normal problem that many of use dealed with before. For example my friend made a Remote Character Creator java tool that is, I think, atm included in PRC instalation. Its an external character creation tool that is able to create and upload character into servervault. (But still the override is easiest way)
               
               

               
            

Legacy_Pstemarie

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4368
  • Karma: +0/-0
Custom Skills & Feats Problem
« Reply #5 on: November 06, 2011, 12:20:51 pm »


               What if you preloaded the haks through patch.ini?
               
               

               
            

Legacy_Ralthis

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 90
  • Karma: +0/-0
Custom Skills & Feats Problem
« Reply #6 on: November 06, 2011, 12:31:45 pm »


               Thanks for the help and info everyone. I'm guessing placing the custom skills/feats.2das into the override directory won't help much...
               
               

               
            

Legacy_Shadooow

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7698
  • Karma: +0/-0
Custom Skills & Feats Problem
« Reply #7 on: November 06, 2011, 01:41:58 pm »


               

Pstemarie wrote...

What if you preloaded the haks through patch.ini?

that works as well but might not be easier than override because: the hak in question have to be placed in patch folder (before anyone respond to this: yes I know that folder can be changed via HEX edit of nwmain but thats not what would I recommend to do anyway), a player still have to download something and install in on its own. The advantage of this method is that it doesnt mess with user's override, which is great thing of course.
               
               

               


                     Modifié par ShaDoOoW, 06 novembre 2011 - 01:42 .
                     
                  


            

Legacy_Pstemarie

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4368
  • Karma: +0/-0
Custom Skills & Feats Problem
« Reply #8 on: November 06, 2011, 02:53:39 pm »


               Thanks ShaDoOoW for that clarification. Even though I've done a lot with patch.ini and "global" changes, I haven't ever looked at from a server pov.
               
               

               
            

Legacy_Alex Warren

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 326
  • Karma: +0/-0
Custom Skills & Feats Problem
« Reply #9 on: November 07, 2011, 07:23:25 am »


               

ShaDoOoW wrote...

 yes I know that folder can be changed via HEX edit of nwmain but thats not what would I recommend to do anyway), a player still have to download something and install in on its own. The advantage of this method is that it doesnt mess with user's override, which is great thing of course.


Setting alias in nwn.ini:
"PATCH=.\\hak"
will work without hex edits. The only drawback of this method is that the contents of 'patch' files will affect all modules (just like overrides). I usually rename my nwnpatch.ini when I start playing other modules.