Author Topic: Changing the maximum number of henchmen?  (Read 829 times)

Legacy_Jugonshi

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 71
  • Karma: +0/-0
Changing the maximum number of henchmen?
« on: June 29, 2014, 07:38:12 am »


               

It seems that, unlike NWN2, I cannot change the maximum number of henchmen allowed via console command.


Can I change that via, say, using toolset and changing some parameter in a module?



               
               

               
            

Legacy_HipMaestro

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2849
  • Karma: +0/-0
Changing the maximum number of henchmen?
« Reply #1 on: June 29, 2014, 02:01:47 pm »


               

You could use something like OldMansBeard's Henchman System but keep in mind that you won't be able to hire more of the campaign's henchs (unless you just copy all their stats when you make your own characters) and those you do import will not be connected with quests or deliver any convos, basically just another NPC that happens to be under your command.  Also, I'm guessing that unless you modified each of the 6 modules yourself, they would not just appear in the next one that opens.


 


Always amazed me how many folk try to change NWN into BG for some reason, but if that is your taste, give it a shot.


 


Besides, the combat balance, already a pushover in the OC, will be drastically diluted by adding any more allies. Also, your XP rewards will be less on the scale of about 10-15% less per party member attached.


 


I can remember playing an Ultima-like module once that was very well made and had a whole hoard of hench accompanying my toon, but at transitions not all would always make it.  Even after the designer tried manipulating the scripts better, it was never 100% reliable (IIRC it had something to do with how fast each hench approached the transition area following the PC or something like that). That could potentially become an issue trying it with the OC modules.  Not sure how they scripted all those.



               
               

               
            

Legacy_Jugonshi

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 71
  • Karma: +0/-0
Changing the maximum number of henchmen?
« Reply #2 on: June 29, 2014, 02:56:21 pm »


               

Well, I am already using OHS. But OHS does not work with PRC. And PRC's cohort system is limited by the maximum number of henchmen allowed in a module. So I want to change the maximum number of henchmen allowed.


Sure, I may not need more henchmen in official campaigns. But there are some fan-made modules, which do not need a DM but balanced for 2 or more players and yet playable as a solo-mod.



               
               

               
            

Legacy_Shadooow

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7698
  • Karma: +0/-0
Changing the maximum number of henchmen?
« Reply #3 on: June 29, 2014, 03:49:54 pm »


               

you need to make a simple script in toolset


 


void main()


{


SetMaxHenchman(6); //or whatever you want


}


 


save, compile and copy from modules/temp0 into override (scriptaname.nss and .ncs files). Then start the game or continue in savegame and run this script via console.



               
               

               
            

Legacy_Proleric

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1750
  • Karma: +0/-0
Changing the maximum number of henchmen?
« Reply #4 on: June 29, 2014, 06:03:10 pm »


               Plenty of custom modules provide multiple companions, with no issues on transition.
               
               

               
            

Legacy_Shadooow

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7698
  • Karma: +0/-0
Changing the maximum number of henchmen?
« Reply #5 on: June 29, 2014, 06:06:08 pm »


               


Plenty of custom modules provide multiple companions, with no issues on transition.




I second that, never heard about any such issue and I see no reason why henchmans should be different than familiars/summons as they uses the same scripting. And I have played with a horde of summons already without issues.


               
               

               
            

Legacy_WhiZard

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2149
  • Karma: +0/-0
Changing the maximum number of henchmen?
« Reply #6 on: June 29, 2014, 06:43:33 pm »


               

My usual implementation of having multiple summons is to have summon armies.  That is summon one creature (the leader) and attach many lesser creatures to it.  This works well with the pale master feats as you can have a horde of skeletons when summoning the skeleton blackguard, for example.  As your level increases so the number of creatures increase allowing the pale master to allows have a fighting force to cast negative energy burst on.



               
               

               
            

Legacy_Jugonshi

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 71
  • Karma: +0/-0
Changing the maximum number of henchmen?
« Reply #7 on: July 15, 2014, 05:40:51 am »


               


you need to make a simple script in toolset


 


void main()


{


SetMaxHenchman(6); //or whatever you want


}


 


save, compile and copy from modules/temp0 into override (scriptaname.nss and .ncs files). Then start the game or continue in savegame and run this script via console.




 


I am not good at using the toolset and maybe doing something silly. But I have tried this and the script editor returned an error message "undeclared identifier" or something.


               
               

               
            

Legacy_Shadooow

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7698
  • Karma: +0/-0
Changing the maximum number of henchmen?
« Reply #8 on: July 15, 2014, 05:55:47 am »


               


I am not good at using the toolset and maybe doing something silly. But I have tried this and the script editor returned an error message "undeclared identifier" or something.




yo sorry I wrote that without chance to look into toolset .- there is typo in the henchman -> should be Henchmen


 


try thath


               
               

               
            

Legacy_Jugonshi

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 71
  • Karma: +0/-0
Changing the maximum number of henchmen?
« Reply #9 on: July 15, 2014, 10:10:12 am »


               


yo sorry I wrote that without chance to look into toolset .- there is typo in the henchman -> should be Henchmen


 


try thath




 


Thanks. I could create a .nss file and a .ncs file and copied them into override folder.


 


But when I tried SoU with those overrides, the mod still says "you may only have 1 henchman at a time" or something.


 


Also, I can only have 1 henchman in ++PRC Character Builder and Tester.mod (which is using OC henchmen). Hmm.....



               
               

               
            

Legacy_Pstemarie

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4368
  • Karma: +0/-0
Changing the maximum number of henchmen?
« Reply #10 on: July 15, 2014, 11:15:36 am »


               

You need to open SoU in the toolset and add that little henchman function to the OnModuleLoad event for each module in the series. You may also need to tweak other scripts.



               
               

               
            

Legacy_Shadooow

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7698
  • Karma: +0/-0
Changing the maximum number of henchmen?
« Reply #11 on: July 15, 2014, 03:28:52 pm »


               


Thanks. I could create a .nss file and a .ncs file and copied them into override folder.


 


But when I tried SoU with those overrides, the mod still says "you may only have 1 henchman at a time" or something.


 


Also, I can only have 1 henchman in ++PRC Character Builder and Tester.mod (which is using OC henchmen). Hmm.....




did you executed the script from console?


 ##Debug Mode 1

##dm_runscript script_name


               
               

               
            

Legacy_Jugonshi

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 71
  • Karma: +0/-0
Changing the maximum number of henchmen?
« Reply #12 on: July 15, 2014, 06:02:47 pm »


               


did you executed the script from console?


 ##Debug Mode 1

##dm_runscript script_name




 


Oh! Silly me! Thats it!


 


Now I can recruit more than 1 henchmen. And with a modified PRC switch, a PC can have multiple extra cohorts.