Author Topic: Gestalt Cutscene Help?  (Read 425 times)

Legacy_Mr. Versipellis

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 236
  • Karma: +0/-0
Gestalt Cutscene Help?
« on: October 14, 2012, 10:40:22 pm »


                Hi there. I'm having a bit of trouble with the ActionGestaltSpeak function - the character is playing the animation and is recognising other instructions in the same script, but the text is not appearing above his head. Oddly enough, another character in the same cutscene carries out the command perfectly. The lines in question are here - anyone know what the problem could be?

//Start Gestalt cutsceneGestaltStartCutscene (oPC, "cs_invasion");
//COA ErnoAssignCommand(oErno, ClearAllActions());
//Erno faces the handler and curses//DelayCommand (1.0, AssignCommand(oErno, ClearAllActions(TRUE)));GestaltActionFace (1.1, oErno, 0.0, 2, oHandler);GestaltActionSpeak (2.0, oErno, "Damn...", ANIMATION_LOOPING_TALK_FORCEFUL, 2.5, 0.0);
               
               

               
            

Legacy_AndarianTD

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 725
  • Karma: +0/-0
Gestalt Cutscene Help?
« Reply #1 on: October 17, 2012, 11:08:45 pm »


               

Mr. Versipellis wrote...

 Hi there. I'm having a bit of trouble with the ActionGestaltSpeak function - the character is playing the animation and is recognising other instructions in the same script, but the text is not appearing above his head. Oddly enough, another character in the same cutscene carries out the command perfectly. The lines in question are here - anyone know what the problem could be?

//Start Gestalt cutscene
GestaltStartCutscene (oPC, "cs_invasion");
//COA Erno
AssignCommand(oErno, ClearAllActions());
//Erno faces the handler and curses
//DelayCommand (1.0, AssignCommand(oErno, ClearAllActions(TRUE)));
GestaltActionFace (1.1, oErno, 0.0, 2, oHandler);
GestaltActionSpeak (2.0, oErno, "Damn...", ANIMATION_LOOPING_TALK_FORCEFUL, 2.5, 0.0);


Yep, a couple of things here. First: don't mix DelayCommand / AssignCommand calls with Gestalt cutscene calls. Gestalt has its own way of controlling participants in the cutscene that doesn't play well with trying to give them commands outside the system. Gestalt provides functions for nearly every one of the things you might want to do via DelayCommand / AssignCommand combinations, so you should use them instead. For example, using the code above:

GestaltStartCutscene(oPC, "cs_invasion");
GestaltClearActions(0.0, oErno);
GestaltActionFace(1.1, oErno, 0.0, 2, oHandler); // Make sure oHandler exists
GestaltActionSpeak (2.0, oErno, "Damn...", ANIMATION_LOOPING_TALK_FORCEFUL, 3.0);

I changed two of your parameters to GestaltActionSpeak in the last line above. First, I set the animation duration to 3.0 seconds. As a general rule, you shouldn't give an animation duration of less than 3.0 seconds -- from what I've observed, unpredictable and improper behavior can occur if you do. Second, I removed the (last) animation speed parameter so that it would default to 1.0. I think that's what you want for an ordinary animation, and the 0.0 might be what's messing it up.

Let me know if that helps!
               
               

               


                     Modifié par AndarianTD, 17 octobre 2012 - 10:11 .
                     
                  


            

Legacy_Mr. Versipellis

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 236
  • Karma: +0/-0
Gestalt Cutscene Help?
« Reply #2 on: October 19, 2012, 12:09:34 am »


               Thanks for the help! Unfortunately, this doesn't seem to be doing anything - everything else in the script is working fine, but the text simply won't appear about the characters' heads. They're definitely receiving the command, since they play the animations and turn to face the Handler npc, but there's no text.
               
               

               
            

Legacy_AndarianTD

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 725
  • Karma: +0/-0
Gestalt Cutscene Help?
« Reply #3 on: October 19, 2012, 10:48:12 pm »


               Can you post the full text of the script for me to try to debug it?
               
               

               
            

Legacy_Mr. Versipellis

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 236
  • Karma: +0/-0
Gestalt Cutscene Help?
« Reply #4 on: October 21, 2012, 01:15:46 pm »


               

AndarianTD wrote...

Can you post the full text of the script for me to try to debug it?

http://pastebin.com/FYEBuX5c
Here you go - I'm sticking it on here because the unedited script has a bit of bad language. Sorry if the NPC names and so on don't make any sense - this is a plot-related cutscene. If you're up for it, I could send you the module in its current state as well?
               
               

               
            

Legacy_Mr. Versipellis

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 236
  • Karma: +0/-0
Gestalt Cutscene Help?
« Reply #5 on: October 26, 2012, 05:17:14 pm »


               Bump?
               
               

               
            

Legacy_Mr. Versipellis

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 236
  • Karma: +0/-0
Gestalt Cutscene Help?
« Reply #6 on: November 06, 2012, 07:36:27 pm »


               Can anyone help with this?
               
               

               
            

Legacy_Mr. Versipellis

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 236
  • Karma: +0/-0
Gestalt Cutscene Help?
« Reply #7 on: November 13, 2012, 10:04:35 pm »


               Bumping this one more time!
               
               

               
            

Legacy_WoC_Builder

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 425
  • Karma: +0/-0
Gestalt Cutscene Help?
« Reply #8 on: November 14, 2012, 03:10:05 am »


               Something simple, but since Gestalt gives us constants for "ANIMATION_LOOPING_TALK_", try removing that bit and just use "FORCEFUL" and see if that does not clear up your issue.

Also, I'm looking at some of your timings.  You are using Action commands, so those will queue up on the subject.  However, you begin your speak action, have a 2.5 second duration on your speaking animation, but your ActionMove is set to fire at 1.5 seconds, and an ActionAttack at 3.5 seconds.

I don't know if my second suggestion is related with the first (or your issue), but that's what I saw.  '<img'>
               
               

               


                     Modifié par WoC_Builder, 14 novembre 2012 - 03:11 .
                     
                  


            

Legacy_Mr. Versipellis

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 236
  • Karma: +0/-0
Gestalt Cutscene Help?
« Reply #9 on: November 14, 2012, 05:20:58 pm »


               None of that worked, I'm afraid. I've tried using other commands (actionspeakstring, floatingtextabovecreature and so on, plus the Gestalt equivalents), but it would seem that even when these two NPCs follow every other command they're given down to playing the right animation, the text simply won't show up above their heads. I am really, really confused.
Edit: Another thing - I've noticed that everything seems to run as smooth as silk when I run this script under the same conditions but in different areas. This is odd.
               
               

               


                     Modifié par Mr. Versipellis, 14 novembre 2012 - 05:51 .
                     
                  


            

Legacy_WoC_Builder

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 425
  • Karma: +0/-0
Gestalt Cutscene Help?
« Reply #10 on: November 14, 2012, 06:09:27 pm »


               Check your messages.  Send me the area erf (or mod file if only one area) and I'll take a "live" look to see if anything jumps out in playtesting.  '<img'>
               
               

               
            

Legacy_Mr. Versipellis

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 236
  • Karma: +0/-0
Gestalt Cutscene Help?
« Reply #11 on: November 14, 2012, 08:21:26 pm »


               I've replied to your message, much appreciated :3
               
               

               
            

Legacy_WoC_Builder

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 425
  • Karma: +0/-0
Gestalt Cutscene Help?
« Reply #12 on: November 14, 2012, 11:35:37 pm »


               And back at you.  '<img'>